The Council's structure

The Council provides more than 400 services which are used by people living, visiting and working in Nottinghamshire.

Decisions are taken by the County Councillors at committee meetings about which services to provide and how much money to spend on them.

Council Departments

Adult Social Care and Health

The department offers advice, information, care and support to meet the needs of older people and adults with physical disabilities, mental health needs and learning disabilities across the county. The department oversees public health services across the county.

View the Adult social care and health structure chart [PDF].

Children and Families

The Children and Families Department brings together a range of services for children, young people and their families. The department has a mix of directly delivered and commissioned services that are primarily designed around the needs of vulnerable children, families and communities.

View the Children and families structure chart [PDF].

Chief Executive's 

The Chief Executive's department brings together the functions which support and enable services and activities across the County Council and is structured into five service groups:

  • Communications, Marketing and Document Services
  • Finance, Procurement and Improvement
  • Information and Communications Technology
  • Customers and Human Resources
  • Legal, Democratic and Complaints.

View the Chief Executive's structure chart [PDF].


The Place Department brings together a range of services with an ambition to create places that meet the needs and aspirations of the people of Nottinghamshire.  The department is made up of two divisions:

  • Investment and Growth Division which is responsible for a range of functions to help drive the growth and prosperity agenda including economic development, regeneration, land and assets, planning and development management.
  • Communities and Place Division, responsible for helping to make Nottinghamshire a great place every day, with services including waste, environment, highways, transport, voluntary and community support, cultural services, trading standards, emergency planning, community safety and birth, death and marriage registration.

View the Place structure chart [PDF].

Share this page?