Nottinghamshire County Council elections

The next County Council election will be held in 2017. 

The most recent Nottinghamshire County Council election took place on 2 May 2013. You can view the results of the May 2013 election in detail.

You can also:

By Elections


Francis Purdue-Horan, Conservative, was elected to the Bingham Division at a by-election held on Thursday 4 August 2016. 

The by-election followed the death of County Councillor Martin Suthers, OBE.

Councillor Francis Purdue-Horan was elected with a majority of 38 on a turnout of 28.1%.


David Martin, Selston Parish Indepdendents, was elected to the Selston Division at the by-election on Thursday 26 November 2015

The by-election followed the resignation of former County Councillor, Gail Turner, for personal and family reasons.

Councillor David Martin was elected with a majority of 1,260 votes on a turnout of 34.2%.

Other local elections

District, borough, parish and town council elections are held at different times. Check with these councils when their next election is. 

If you live in Nottingham city you will vote in the City Council elections. 

You will only need to register to vote once to be able to vote in any of these elections.

More on local elections on GOV.UK.

General elections

In a general election registered voters in all areas of the country vote for an MP to represent them in the House of Commons. The last general election was in 2015.

More information on general elections from GOV.UK.

European elections

Elections to the European Parliament are every five years and the last were in 2014. 

More information on European elections on GOV.UK.

Share this page?

Contact the Council

Find and talk with us online or contact us directly by online form, email, telephone, post or in person at one of our offices. Use our online form Visit us in person Call us on 0300 500 80 80