About County Councillors

County Councillors are elected by the people of Nottinghamshire every four years.

Each councillor represents a particular area of the county:

  • there are 66 County Councillors in Nottinghamshire
  • they represent 56 areas of the county.

Councillors are often members of political parties but they can also be independent.

What do councillors do?

County Councillors:

  • use their knowledge and views to help make Council decisions
  • represent the interests of the residents in their area
  • check the quality of services provided by the County Council
  • help local people use County Council services and find information.

They do this by:

  • attending full council meetings
  • sitting on committees
  • working closely with other agencies that operate in their area
  • holding regularly surgeries for the public to raise issues or find out information.

Types of councillors

There are different councils in Nottinghamshire, and so there are different types of councillors:

  • County Councillors serve on the County Council
  • District Councillors serve on district councils
  • Town or Parish Councillors service on town or parish councils.

A County Councillor may also be a District Councillor, Parish or Town Councillor, or a Member of Parliament or Member of the European Parliament.

For more information on councillors and local government visit the GOV.UK website.

Share this page?

Contact the Council

Find and talk with us online or contact us directly by online form, email, telephone, post or in person at one of our offices.

Facebook.com/Nottinghamshire Twitter.com/NottsCC Use our online form Visit us in person Call us on 0300 500 80 80