Blue Badge scheme

The Blue Badge scheme helps you park closer to your destination if you’re disabled.

Blue badge eligibility

You will automatically qualify for a Blue Badge if you:

  • receive the Higher Rate of the Mobility Component of Disability Living Allowance (HRMCDLA)
  • receive eight points or more under the 'Moving Around' descriptor of the mobility component of the Personal Independence Payment (PIP)
  • are registered blind (severely sight impaired)
  • receive a War Pensioner’s Mobility Supplement
  • have been awarded a lump sum benefit at tariff 1-8 of the Armed Forces Compensation Scheme and have been certified as having a permanent and substantial disability which causes inability to walk or very considerable difficulty in walking.

You may be eligible for a badge if you:

  • have a permanent and substantial disability that causes inability to walk or
    very considerable difficulty in walking. In this case you may be asked to have an independent mobility assessment
  • drive a vehicle regularly, have a severe disability in both arms and have considerable difficulty in operating all, or some, types of parking meter
  • are aged under three years and have to be accompanied everywhere by bulky medical equipment
  • are an organisation caring for disabled people meeting the eligibility criteria. This is entirely at our discretion.

The Department for Transport (DfT) announced in 2018 that it intends to change the Blue Badge criteria so that some people with hidden disabilities, including autism and mental health conditions, will be able to apply for a Blue Badge.

The DfT have indicated that details of the new criteria may be released sometime early summer 2019 with them coming into effect some time later.

We will publish full details of the new criteria once these have been finalised by the DfT.

If you believe you may be eligible under the new scheme please do not apply yet.

Any applications made before the new criteria are introduced will be assessed against the current criteria and may therefore be declined.

Unfortunately we are not able to hold or defer applications until the new criteria is made available


Share this page?