Nottinghamshire County Council

17th May 2012

Agenda Item: 6

REPORT OF THE CHIEF EXECUTIVE

RECOGNITION OF MEMBERS AND OFFICERS OF GROUPS

Purpose of the Report

1. To report details of the membership of the political Groups, together with the names of officers appointed within the groups.

Information and Advice

- 2. At the annual meeting of the Council in May 2011 Members noted the composition of the political Groups as required by the Committees and Political Groups Regulations made under the Local Government and Housing Act 1989
- 3. There are currently four political Groups on the Council, which are:-
 - the Nottinghamshire County Council Conservative Group
 - the Nottinghamshire County Labour Group
 - the Liberal Democrat and Social Democrat Group
 - the Independents Group

Since that time there has been a change to the membership of the Groups following a by-election. The current membership of the Groups is set out in the attached appendix.

4. At the same meeting, and in accordance with Standing Order 15.1, the Council recognised the Officers of the Groups, who are now:-

Conservative Group

Leader:	Councillor Mrs Kay Cutts
Deputy Leader:	Councillor Martin Suthers OBE
 Business Manager 	Councillor Carol Pepper
Group Secretary:	Councillor L B Cooper
 Deputy Business Manager: 	Councillor Chris Barnfather
Labour Group	
Leader:	Councillor Alan Rhodes
 Deputy Leader: 	Councillor Joyce Bosnjak
 Business Manager 	Councillor Steve Carroll

Liberal Democrat and Social Democrat Group

- Leader:
- Deputy Leader:

Business Manager

Councillor Jason Zadrozny Councillor Ken Rigby Councillor Brian Wombwell

Independent Group

• Leader:

Councillor June Stendall

5. The majority of the Officer posts within the Groups attract the payment of Special Responsibility Allowances in accordance with the Council's Scheme. Those allowances become payable on the date on which notification was received.

Reasons for Recommendations

6. It is necessary for Council to recognise the political Groups on the Council and their Officers.

Statutory and Policy Implications

7. This report has been compiled after consideration of implications in respect of finance, equal opportunities, human resources, crime and disorder, human rights, the safeguarding of children, sustainability and the environment and those using the service and where such implications are material they are described below. Appropriate consultation has been undertaken and advice sought on these issues as required.

RECOMMENDATIONS

- 1. That the membership of the political Groups be noted.
- 2. That, in accordance with Standing Orders, the Officers of the Groups be recognised.

Mick Burrows Chief Executive

For any enquiries about this report please contact: Chris Holmes

Telephone: 0115 977 3714

Constitutional Services comments (SG 08/05/2012)

The proposals in this report are within the remit of Council.

Financial Comments (MB 08/05/12)

There are no specific financial implications arising from the report.

Background Papers

Except for previously published documents, which will be available elsewhere, the documents listed here will be available for inspection in accordance with Section 100D of the Local Government Act 1972.

Nil

Electoral Division(s) and Member(s) Affected

All

APPENDIX

MEMBERS AND OFFICERS OF GROUPS

(A) Nottinghamshire County Council Conservative Group

35 Members:-

Reg Adair Chris Barnfather Victor Bobo **Richard Butler** Allen Clarke Ged Clarke L B Cooper John Cottee Michael J Cox Mrs Kay Cutts V H Dobson Dr John Doddy Keith Girling John M Hempsall **Richard Jackson Rod Kempster** Eric Kerry **Bruce Laughton**

Mick Murphy Philip Owen Carol Pepper Mike Quigley MBE Mrs Wendy Quigley **Kevin Rostance** Mrs Sue Saddington Mel Shepherd MBE Mark Spencer MP Andy Stewart Martin Suthers OBE Lynn Sykes David Taylor Keith Walker Stuart Wallace Gordon Wheeler Liz Yates

Officers

Leader: Deputy Leader: Business Manager: Group Secretary: Deputy Business Manager: Councillor Mrs Kay Cutts Councillor Martin Suthers OBE Councillor Carol Pepper Councillor L B Cooper Councillor Chris Barnfather

(B) Nottinghamshire County Council Labour Group

15 Members:-

John Allin Joyce Bosnjak Steve Carroll John Clarke Jim Creamer Sybil Fielding Glynn Gilfoyle Kevin Greaves John Knight Sheila Place Darrell Pulk Alan Rhodes S Smedley MBE JP Parry Tsimbiridis Chris Winterton

Officers

Leader: Deputy Leader: Business Manager: Alan Rhodes Joyce Bosnjak Steve Carroll

(C) Liberal Democrat and Social Democrat Group

9 Members:-

Fiona Asbury Steve Carr Michelle Gent Stan Heptinstall MBE Keith Longdon

Rachel Madden Ken Rigby Brian Wombwell Jason Zadrozny

June Stendall

Martin Wright

Gail Turner

Les Ward

Officers

Leader:
Deputy Leader:
Business Manager:

Jason Zadrozny Ken Rigby Brian Wombwell

(D) Independents Group

8 Members:-

Bob Cross Stephen Garner Rev. Tom Irvine Geoff Merry

Officers

Leader:

June Stendall