

Report to Health Scrutiny Committee

25 February 2020

Agenda Item: 5

REPORT OF THE CHAIRMAN OF HEALTH SCRUTINY COMMITTEE

NOTTINGHAMSHIRE HEALTHCARE TRUST CHANGE OF SERVICE - MILLBROOK

Purpose of the Report

1. To introduce an initial briefing on a change of service at Millbrook.

Information

- 2. Millbrook Mental Health Unit, based in Mansfield, provides inpatient and community services to adults and older adults requiring specialist mental health services. Based on the site are:
 - Two adult mental health wards:
 - Two older adult mental health wards
 - Locality mental health teams serving the populations of Mansfield and Ashfield
 - Crisis resolution and home treatment teams serving the populations of Mansfield and Ashfield
 - Outpatients clinics
 - A health-based place of safety for patients detained under Section 136 of the Mental Health Act for assessment (Jasmine Section 136 Suite).

The inpatient environments at Millbrook do not meet good practice guidance and the Trust is committed to making significant improvements to ensure they can provide care in facilities that recognise the importance of the built environment on patient safety, privacy, dignity, behaviour and wellbeing. A key priority is to provide facilities which have single, en suite accommodation, as recommended by the Care Quality Commission.

- 3. Dr John Brewin, Chief Executive, Greater Nottingham Clinical Commissioning Group will attend the Health Scrutiny Committee to provide briefing and answer questions, as necessary.
- 4. A written briefing from the Healthcare Trust which includes detailed information on these proposals is attached as an appendix to this report.

5. Members will wish to schedule further consideration of these proposals and the consultation on them.

RECOMMENDATION

That the Health Scrutiny Committee:

- 1) Consider and comment on the proposals described by the Trust.
- 2) Schedule further consideration as necessary.

Councillor Keith Girling Chairman of Health Scrutiny Committee

For any enquiries about this report please contact: Martin Gately - 0115 977 2826

Background Papers

Nil

Electoral Division(s) and Member(s) Affected

All Mansfield and Newark and Sherwood Electoral Divisions

Cllr V Hopewell, Mansfield East
Cllr J Bosnjak, Mansfield North,
Cllr S Garner, Mansfield South
Cllr P Henshaw, Mansfield West
Cllr A Wetton, Warsop
Cllr Y Woodhead, Blidworth
Cllr V Hopewell, Mansfield East.
Cllr M Wright, Mansfield East.
Cllr P Tsimbiridis, Mansfield North
Cllr A Sissons, Mansfield South
Cllr D Meale, Mansfield West
Cllr K Walker, Balderton
Cllr M Dobson, Collingham

Cllr Mrs S Saddington, Farndon and Trent Cllr B Laughton, Muskham and Farnsfield

Cllr S Wallace, Newark East
Cllr M Pringle, Ollerton
Cllr J Peck, Sherwood Forest