

# Report to Children and Young People's Committee

1<sup>st</sup> November 2021

Agenda Item: 16

REPORT OF THE SERVICE DIRECTOR, EDUCATION, LEARNING AND SKILLS

LOCAL AUTHORITY GOVERNOR APPOINTMENTS TO SCHOOL GOVERNING BODIES DURING THE PERIOD 19<sup>TH</sup> JUNE TO 30<sup>TH</sup> SEPTEMBER 2021

## **Purpose of the Report**

1. To update the Committee on the appointment of Local Authority (LA) governors to school governing bodies for the period 19<sup>th</sup> June to 30<sup>th</sup> September 2021 in accordance with the requirements of the Constitution.

## Information

- 2. Under the School Governance (Constitution) (England) Regulations 2012, as amended by the School Governance (Constitution and Federations) (England) Amendment Regulations 2014, governing bodies of maintained schools were required to reconstitute to a skills-based model of governance by September 2015, and are allowed one LA governor on the reconstituted governing body. For this model of governance, governing bodies may set eligibility criteria for, and appoint, the Local Authority governor.
- 3. Under these Regulations the County Council is responsible for nominating individuals as prospective governors. Nominations are made by the County Council, in accordance with the eligibility criteria provided by the governing body. When nominating new governors or re-nominating existing governors, the County Council must consider the skills and experience the governing body needs in order to be effective.
- 4. Local Authority governors nominated by the County Council and appointed by school governing bodies during the period 19<sup>th</sup> June 2021 to 30<sup>th</sup> September 2021 are as follows:

BASSETLAW	
The Primary School of St Mary and St	
Martin Blyth	New appointment to the category of LA
	governor
Hallcroft Infant and Nursery School	Mr Anthony Tromans
	Re-appointment to the category of LA
	Governor

BROXTOWE	
Trent Rylands Federation	Councillor Kate Foale  New appointment to the category of LA  Governor
Banks Road Infant and Nursery	Mr Adam Statham  New appointment to the category of LA  Governor
GEDLING	
Arnold Mill Primary and Nursery	Mr David Shreeves  New appointment to the category of LA  Governor
St Wilfrid's Primary	Mr Mike Harris  New appointment to the category of LA  Governor
NEWARK	
The Newark Orchard School (Special)	Mrs Laura Redfern  Re-appointment to the category of LA  Governor

#### **Other Options Considered**

5. No other options have been considered.

#### Reasons for Recommendation/s

6. The constitution requires the Corporate Directorate to report governor appointments to Committee on a quarterly basis.

# **Statutory and Policy Implications**

7. This report has been compiled after consideration of implications in respect of crime and disorder, data protection and information governance, finance, human resources, human rights, the NHS Constitution (public health services), the public sector equality duty, safeguarding of children and adults at risk, service users, smarter working, sustainability and the environment and where such implications are material they are described below. Appropriate consultation has been undertaken and advice sought on these issues as required.

## **Data Protection and Information Governance**

8. The information contained within this report is already within the public domain and a privacy impact statement is therefore not needed.

#### **RECOMMENDATION/S**

1) That the Committee receives further updates regarding future appointments on a quarterly basis in accordance with the Constitution.

## Marion Clay Service Director, Education, Learning & Skills

## For any enquiries about this report please contact:

Sarah Sayer Team Manager

T: 0115 9773231/07824 354973 E: <u>sarah.sayer@nottscc.gov.uk</u>

## **Constitutional Comments (AK 08/10/21)**

9. This report falls within the remit of Children and Young People's Committee under its terms of reference.

## Financial Comments (MDN 07/10/21)

10. There are no financial implications arising directly from this report.

## **Background Papers and Published Documents**

Except for previously published documents, which will be available elsewhere, the documents listed here will be available for inspection in accordance with Section 100D of the Local Government Act 1972.

None.

#### **Electoral Divisions and Members Affected**

**Bassetlaw** 

Retford West Councillor Mike Quigley

**Broxtowe** 

Beeston Central and Rylands Councillor Kate Foale Toton, Chilwell and Attenborough Councillor Richard Jackson

Councillor Eric Kerry

Gedling

Arnold North
Arnold North
Councillor Pauline Allan
Councillor Michael Payne
Calverton
Councillor Boyd Elliott

Newark

Newark East Councillor Sam Smith

C1518