

minutes

Meeting POLICY COMMITTEE

Date Wednesday, 16th October 2013 at 10:30am

membership

Persons absent are marked with `A'

COUNCILLORS

Alan Rhodes (Chairman) Joyce Bosnjak (Vice-Chairman)

Reg Adair Richard Butler Jim Creamer Kay Cutts Glynn Gilfoyle Kevin Greaves Stan Heptinstall MBE Richard Jackson David Kirkham John Knight Diana Meale Liz Plant Martin Suthers OBE Gail Turner Stuart Wallace Yvonne Woodhead Jason Zadrozny

ALSO IN ATTENDANCE

Councillor Alan Bell Councillor Nicki Brooks Councillor Steve Carroll Councillor John Cottee Councillor Alice Grice Councillor Darren Langton Councillor Sheila Place Councillor John Wilkinson

OFFICERS IN ATTENDANCE

Carl Bilbey	(Policy, Planning & Corporate Services)
Mick Burrows	(Chief Executive)
Martin Done	(Policy, Planning & Corporate Services)
David Ebbage	(Policy, Planning & Corporate Services)
Jayne Francis-Ward	(Policy, Planning & Corporate Services)
Justine Gibling	(Children, Families & Cultural Services)
Derek Higton	(Children, Families & Cultural Services)
Chris Holmes	(Policy, Planning & Corporate Services)
Celia Morris	(Policy, Planning & Corporate Services)
Kevin Sharman	(Environment & Resources)
Michelle Welsh	(Policy, Planning & Corporate Services)

FORMER COUNCILLOR ANDY STEWART

At the start of the meeting, the Leader announced the recent loss of former Councillor Andy Stewart. All members stood in silence in his memory.

MEMBERSHIP OF THE POLICY COMMITTEE

The following changes to the membership were reported:-

Temporary Committee Changes

Councillor Liz Plant has replaced Councillor John Peck for this meeting only. Councillor Richard Butler has replaced Councillor Philip Owen for this meeting only.

Councillor Yvonne Woodhead has replaced Councillor Muriel Weisz for this meeting only.

Permanent Committee Changes

Councillor Jason Zadrozny had been reappointed in place of Councillor Ken Rigby

MINUTES

The Minutes of the last meeting held on 18th September 2013 having been previously circulated were confirmed and signed by the Chairman.

APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

None

DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST BY MEMBERS AND OFFICERS

Councillor Stan Heptinstall MBE declared a personal and pecuniary interest in Item 7 – Establishment of an Economic Development Capital Fund and Supporting Local Communities Fund as he is a director of SMB (Small Medium Enterprises).

NOTTINGHAMSHIRE CHILDREN'S TRUST EARLY HELP DEVELOPMENT PLAN 2013-2016

RESOLVED 2013/073

That the Nottinghamshire Children's Trust Early Help Development Plan 2013-2016 be approved

TRANSFORMING COMMUNICATIONS AND MARKETING

RESOLVED 2013/074

That the approach to transforming Communications and Marketing as set out in the report in order to achieve £178,000 savings be approved.

COTGRAVE REGENERATION – COLLABORATION AGREEMENT

RESOLVED 2013/075

That the County Council enter into the collaboration based on the proposals set out in paragraph 6 of the report.

ESTABLISHMENT OF AN ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT CAPITAL FUND AND SUPPORTING LOCAL COMMUNITIES FUND

Having earlier declared an interest Councillor Heptinstall MBE left the meeting during the discussion on this item.

Following a debate the recommendations were put to members and after a show of hands the Chairman indicated that it was carried.

The requisite number of Members requested a recorded vote and it was ascertained that the following 10 Members voted **'For'** the motion.

'FOR'

Joyce Bosnjak Jim Creamer Kevin Greaves Glynn Gilfoyle David Kirkham John Knight Diana Meale Liz Plant Alan Rhodes Yvonne Woodhead

The following 8 Members voted 'Against' the motion.

'AGAINST'

Reg Adair Richard Butler Kay Cutts Richard Jackson Martin Suthers OBE Gail Turner Stuart Wallace Jason Zadrozny

RESOLVED 2013/076

That approval be given for changes to the Council's investment in discretionary capital activity through the LIS to be implemented, namely:

- 1) That the capital allocation be reduced to £1.5 million per annum with effect from April 2014
- 2) That the revised capital allocation be split from 2014-15, with £1 million transferring in a new fund to the Economic Development Committee and £0.5 million remaining with the Environment and Sustainability Committee to deliver community based environmental schemes.
- 3) That delegated authority be granted to the Economic Development Committee to approve the scope, criteria and operation of the new 'Economic Development Capital Fund.'

4) That delegated authority be granted to the Environment & Sustainability Committee to approve the scope, criteria and operation of the new 'Supporting Local Communities Fund'

Councillor Stan Heptinstall re-joined the meeting.

STAFFING REQUIREMENTS IN DEMOCRATIC SERVICES

RESOLVED 2013/077

That the establishment if a 0.5 post of Researcher/Administrator within Democratic Services on a temporary basis for two years be established.

<u>APPOINTMENT TO OUTSIDE BODY – HOLME PIERREPONT LEISURE</u> TRUST

RESOLVED 2013/078

That the Service Director for Youth, Families & Cultural Services be appointed as the County Council's representative to the Board of the Holme Pierreport Leisure Trust.

COUNTY COUNCILS NETWORK ANNUAL CONFERENCE 18-19 NOVEMBER 2013, CHESTER

RESOLVED 2013/079

That approval be given for the Leader and Deputy Leader to attend the CCN Annual Conference $18^{th} - 19^{th}$ November 2013, together with any necessary travel and accommodation arrangements.

WORK PROGRAMME

It was suggested that a report be brought to a future meeting on the progress with the Tarmac contract on highways maintenance.

RESOLVED 2013/080

That the Committee's work programme be noted and that a report to a future meeting on the progress with the highways maintenance contract be included.

The meeting closed at 12.42 pm.