

Report to Children and Young People's Committee

17 December 2018

Agenda Item: 8

REPORT OF THE SERVICE DIRECTOR, EDUCATION LEARNING & SKILLS

LOCAL AUTHORITY GOVERNOR APPOINTMENTS TO SCHOOL GOVERNING BODIES DURING THE PERIOD 1 SEPTEMBER TO 31 DECEMBER 2018

Purpose of the Report

1. To note the appointment of Local Authority (LA) governors to school governing bodies for the period 1 September to 31 December 2018.

Information

- 2. Under the School Governance (Constitution) (England) Regulations 2012, as amended by the School Governance (Constitution and Federations) (England) Amendment Regulations 2014, governing bodies of maintained schools were required to reconstitute to a skills-based model of governance by September 2015, and are allowed one LA governor on the reconstituted governing body. For this model of governance, governing bodies may set eligibility criteria for, and appoint, the Local Authority governor.
- 3. Under these Regulations the County Council is responsible for nominating individuals as prospective governors. Nominations are made by the County Council, in accordance with the eligibility criteria provided by the governing body. When nominating new governors or re-nominating existing governors, the County Council must consider the skills and experience the governing body needs in order to be effective.
- 4. Local Authority governors nominated by the County Council and appointed by school governing bodies during the period 1 September to 31 December 2018 are as follows:

BASSETLAW	
Holy Family Catholic Primary	Mrs Karen Hunt
	Existing governor. Now appointed to the category of LA on the same governing body

St Augustine's	Councillor Glynn Gilfoyle Previously a LA governor on this governing body. Following break in service has now been appointed to the category of LA governor
Sturton le Steeple (Church of England) Voluntary Aided,	Mr David William Moore Existing governor. Now appointed to the category of LA on the same governing body
BROXTOWE	-
Eskdale Junior	Mrs Kashmir Purewal Existing governor. Now appointed to the category of LA on the same governing body
GEDLING	
Bestwood Village Hawthorne Primary and Nursery	Mr Michael Thomas Pugh New appointment to the category of LA governor
Phoenix Infant and Nursery	Mr David Colyer Existing governor. Now appointed to the category of LA on the same governing body
MANSFIELD	
Heathlands Primary	Mrs Sally Ann Borrill Existing governor. Now appointed to the category of LA on the same governing body
NEWARK	
Chuter Ede Primary	Mrs Debbie Tinsley New appointment to the category of LA governor.
Edwinstowe St Mary's CofE (VA)	Mrs Sarah Jane Moore Existing governor. Now appointed to the category of LA on the same governing body
Winthorpe Primary	Mrs Michele Cammack Existing governor. Now appointed to the category of LA on the same governing body
RUSHCLIFFE	
Jesse Gray Primary	Mr James Silver Existing governor. Now appointed to the category of LA on the same governing body
Lantern Lane Primary	Mrs Jill Jennison New appointment to the category of LA governor

Normanton on Soar Primary	Mrs Jennifer Anne Burke New appointment to the category of LA governor
Pierrepont Gamston Primary School (VA Church School)	Mr Tej Paul Singh Kithoray New appointment to the category of LA governor
Radcliffe on Trent Infant and Nursery	Mr Michael James Powell New appointment to the category of LA governor
Sutton Bonington Primary School	Mr Elie Godsi New appointment to the category of LA governor
West Bridgford Junior	Mr Adam Hendry New appointment to the category of LA governor

Other Options Considered

5. No other options have been considered.

Reasons for Recommendation/s

6. The report is for noting only.

Statutory and Policy Implications

7. This report has been compiled after consideration of implications in respect of crime and disorder, data protection and information governance, finance, human resources, human rights, the NHS Constitution (public health services), the public sector equality duty, safeguarding of children and adults at risk, service users, smarter working, sustainability and the environment and where such implications are material they are described below. Appropriate consultation has been undertaken and advice sought on these issues as required.

RECOMMENDATION/S

1) That the Committee notes the appointment of Local Authority governors to school governing bodies during the period 1 September to 31 December 2018, as listed in paragraph 4.

Marion Clay Service Director, Education, Learning & Skills

For any enquiries about this report please contact:

Jane Mansell Team Manager

T: 0115 8040628/07860 597832 E: jane.mansell@nottscc.gov.uk

Constitutional Comments

8. As this report is for noting only, no Constitutional Comments are required.

Financial Comments (SAS 23/11/18)

9. There are no financial implications arising directly from this report.

Background Papers and Published Documents

Except for previously published documents, which will be available elsewhere, the documents listed here will be available for inspection in accordance with Section 100D of the Local Government Act 1972.

None.

Electoral Division(s) and Member(s) Affected

Worksop South Worksop East

Tuxford

Toton, Chilwell and Attenborough

Newstead Carlton West Mansfield East Newark East Sherwood Forest

Collingham

Leak and Ruddington West Bridgford South Radcliffe on Trent Cllr Kevin Greaves Cllr Glynn Gilfoyle Cllr John Ogle

Cllr Richard Jackson and Cllr Eric Kerry

Cllr Chris Barnfather

Cllr Jim Creamer and Cllr Errol Henry JP
Cllr Vaughan Hopewell and Cllr Martin Wright

Cllr Stuart Wallace Cllr John Peck

Cllr Maureen Dobson

Cllr Reg Adair and Cllr Andrew Brown

Cllr Jonathan Wheeler Cllr Kay Cutts MBE

C1183