Nottinghamshire County Council

minutes

Meeting Communities and Place Review and Development Committee

Date

23 May 2019 (commencing at 10:30 am)

Membership

Persons absent are marked with an 'A'

COUNCILLORS

Gordon Wheeler (Chairman)

Andrew Brown Richard Butler Jim Creamer Stephen Garner David Martin Mike Pringle Sue Saddington Yvonne Woodhead

COUNCILLORS IN ATTENDANCE

Councillor Bruce Laughton Councillor John Longdon

OFFICERS IN ATTENDANCE

Doug Coutts	-	Via East Midlands Ltd
Derek Higton	-	Place Department
Sonya Hurt	-	Via East Midlands Ltd.
Noel McMenamin	-	Chief Executive's Department
Kevin Sharman	-	Place Department
Gary Wood	-	Place Department

1. MINUTES OF LAST MEETING HELD ON 21 MARCH 2019

The minutes of the meeting held on 21 March 2019 having been circulated to all Members, were taken as read and were signed by the Chairman.

2. APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

Councillor Creamer replaced Councillor Henry for this meeting only.

Councillor Pringle replaced Councillor Plant for this meeting only.

Councillor Saddington replaced Councillor Vickers for this meeting only.

3. DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

None.

4. ROAD SAFETY

The Chair reminded the Committee that a separate detailed cross-party review of safety outside schools had been conducted and its recommendations had been approved by Policy Committee.

The Committee considered a report and received a detailed presentation on the ambitious and multidisciplinary approach being adopted to reduce road casualties. Central to this was the '4 E's Principle', namely Education – lifelong learning for all groups, Enforcement, Engineering – casualty reduction schemes and safety audits, and Evaluation – monitoring measures undertaken and evidencing future effectiveness.

RESOLVED 2019/05

That the topics presented were considered, with further consideration of road safety to take place at the Committee's July 2019 meeting.

5. WORK PROGRAMME

RESOLVED 2019/06

That the Committee's work programme be agreed.

The meeting concluded at 12:35 pm

Chairman