

Report to Children and Young People's Committee

17 September 2018

Agenda Item: 14

REPORT OF THE SERVICE DIRECTOR, EDUCATION LEARNING & SKILLS

LOCAL AUTHORITY GOVERNOR APPOINTMENTS TO SCHOOL GOVERNING BODIES DURING THE PERIOD 31 MAY TO 24 AUGUST 2018

Purpose of the Report

1. The report informs Committee of the appointment of Local Authority (LA) governors to school governing bodies for the period 31 May to 24 August 2018 and the appointment of Additional Local Authority governors to the governing body of Hillocks Primary School.

Information

- 2. Under the School Governance (Constitution) (England) Regulations 2012, as amended by the School Governance (Constitution and Federations) (England) Amendment Regulations 2014, governing bodies of maintained schools were required to reconstitute to a skills-based model of governance by September 2015, and are allowed one LA governor on the reconstituted governing body. For this model of governance, governing bodies may set eligibility criteria for, and appoint, the Local Authority governor.
- 3. Under these Regulations the County Council is responsible for nominating individuals as prospective governors. Nominations are made by the County Council, in accordance with the eligibility criteria provided by the governing body. When nominating new governors or re-nominating existing governors, the County Council must consider the skills and experience the governing body needs in order to be effective.
- 4. Local Authority governors nominated by the County Council and appointed by school governing bodies during the period

BASSETLAW	
Clarborough Primary	Mr Gregory Arthur Herdman Existing governor. Now appointed to the category of LA on the same governing body
Mattersey Primary	Mr Christopher John Bailey Existing governor. Now appointed to the category of LA on the same governing body

St John's C of E Academy	Councillor Sybil Jacqueline Fielding Existing governor. Now appointed to the category of LA on the same governing
St Peter's C of E Primary, Gringley on the Hill	Mrs Melissa Sherwin-Gill New appointment to the category of LA governor
GEDLING	
All Hallows C of E Primary	Mr David Charles Hopkins New appointment to the category of LA governor
Carlton Digby Special School	Mr Peter Artis Existing governor. Now appointed to the category of LA on the same governing body
MANSFIELD	
Church Vale Primary School and Foundation Unit	Mr Martin Lloyd New appointment to the category of LA governor
NEWARK	
All Saints Anglican Methodist Primary	Mrs Linda Susan Fitzgerald New appointment to the category of LA governor
Christ Church C of E Infant and Nursery School	Mrs Susan Pickles Existing governor. Now appointed to the category of LA on the same governing body
Harby Queen Eleanor Primary	Mr Peter Mervyn Cowan
Lowe's Wong Anglican Methodist Junior	Dr Carlo Poncipe Existing governor. Now appointed to the category of LA on the same governing body
Lowe's Wong Infant	Mr Simon Smith New appointment to the category of LA governor
Newark Lovers Lane Primary	Mrs Nicola Pringle Existing governor. Now appointed to the category of LA on the same governing body
Walesby C of E Primary	Mrs Margaret Isobel Staples Existing governor. Now appointed to the category of LA on the same governing body
RUSHCLIFFE	
Costock C of E Primary School	Mrs Sarah Louise Smith Existing governor. Now appointed to the category of LA on the same governing body
St Peter's Junior School	Mr Robert Ashley Dodd

	Existing governor. Now appointed to the category of LA on the same governing body
Willow Brook Primary	Mr Anthony Williams Existing governor. Now appointed to the category of LA on the same governing body

5. The appointment of Additional Local Authority governors to the governing body of Hillocks Primary School as follows:

Hillocks Primary	Mrs Kath Holloway
	Mr Andrew Fox

Other Options Considered

6. No other options have been considered.

Reasons for Recommendation/s

7. This report provides an opportunity for the Committee to agree to receive further quarterly reports.

Statutory and Policy Implications

8. This report has been compiled after consideration of implications in respect of crime and disorder, data protection and information governance, finance, human resources, human rights, the NHS Constitution (public health services), the public sector equality duty, safeguarding of children and adults at risk, service users, smarter working, sustainability and the environment and where such implications are material they are described below. Appropriate consultation has been undertaken and advice sought on these issues as required.

RECOMMENDATION/S

1) That Members agreed to receive further quarterly reports on Local Authority governor appointments to school governing bodies and that these be included in the work programme.

Marion Clay Service Director, Education, Learning & Skills

For any enquiries about this report please contact:

Jane Mansell
Team Manager, Governor Services
T: 0115 8040628/07860 597832
E: jane.mansell@nottscc.gov.uk

Constitutional Comments (SLB 05/09/18)

9. Children and Young People's Committee is the appropriate body to consider the content of this report.

Financial Comments (SAS 23/08/18)

10. There are no financial implications arising directly from this report.

Background Papers and Published Documents

Except for previously published documents, which will be available elsewhere, the documents listed here will be available for inspection in accordance with Section 100D of the Local Government Act 1972.

None.

Electoral Division(s) and Member(s) Affected

Sutton Central and East

Misterton Worksop West Carlton West Arnold South

Farndon and Trent

Collingham
Southwell
Newark West
Ollerton

Leake and Ruddington

Keyworth

Warsop

C1139

Cllr Samantha Deakin Cllr Tracey Taylor Cllr Sybil Fielding

Cllr Jim Creamer and Cllr Errol Henry JP Cllr John Clarke and Cllr Muriel Weisz

Cllr Andy Wetton

Cllr Mrs Sue Saddington Cllr Maureen Dobson Cllr Roger Jackson Cllr Keith Girling Cllr Mike Pringle

Cllr Reg Adair and Cllr Andrew Brown

Cllr John Cottee