

Report to Children and Young People's Committee

20 November 2017

Agenda Item: 13

REPORT OF THE SERVICE DIRECTOR, EDUCATION, LEARNING & SKILLS

LOCAL AUTHORITY GOVERNOR APPOINTMENTS TO SCHOOL GOVERNING BODIES DURING THE PERIOD 8 JUNE TO 18 OCTOBER 2017

Purpose of the Report

1. To note the appointment of Local Authority (LA) governors to school governing bodies for the period 8 June to 18 October 2017.

Information and Advice

- 2. Under the School Governance (Constitution) (England) Regulations 2012, as amended by the School Governance (Constitution and Federations) (England) Amendment Regulations 2014, governing bodies of maintained schools were required to reconstitute to a skills-based model of governance by September 2015, and are allowed one LA governor on the reconstituted governing body. For this model of governance, governing bodies may set eligibility criteria for, and appoint, the Local Authority governor.
- 3. Under these Regulations the County Council is responsible for nominating individuals as prospective governors. Nominations are made by the County Council, in accordance with the eligibility criteria provided by the governing body. When nominating new governors or re-nominating existing governors, the County Council must consider the skills and experience the governing body needs in order to be effective.
- 4. Local Authority governors nominated by the County Council and appointed by school governing bodies during the period 8 June to 18 October, 2017 are as follows:

ASHFIELD	
Orchard Primary and Nursery	Mr Peter Creek New appointment to the category of LA governor
St Andrew's CofE (VC) Primary School	Mr John Summerfield Existing governor, now appointed to the category of LA on the same governing body

BASSETLAW	
Gamston CofE (Aided) Primary	Mrs Julia Maria Bowness New appointment to the category of LA governor
Gateford Park Primary School, Worksop	Mr Christopher Philip Mann New appointment to the category of LA governor
BROXTOWE	
Bramcote Hills Primary School	Cllr Eileen Atherton Existing governor, now appointed to the category of LA on the same governing body
Larkfields Junior	Cllr Jillian Owen Existing governor, now appointed to the category of LA on the same governing body
The Lanes	Mrs Sheila Mary Birchall New appointment to the category of LA governor
GEDLING	
Mapperley Plains Primary and Nursery	Mr Stuart Drayton New appointment to the category of LA governor
MANSFIELD	
Forest Town Primary	Mrs Pamela Smith, Previously co-opted, now appointed to the category of LA on the same governing body
Northfield Primary and Nursery	Mr Neil Woodcock Existing governor, now appointed to the category of LA on the same governing body
NEWARK	
The Newark Orchard	Mrs Laura Redfern Previously parent, now appointed to the category of LA on the same governing body
RUSHCLIFFE	
Cotgrave Church of England Primary	Mr Gordon Monaghan New appointment to the category of LA governor
Langar CofE (Voluntary Controlled) Primary	Mr Mark Ebb Existing governor, now appointed to the category of LA on the same governing body
Orston Primary	Mr Andrew Davidson New appointment to the category of LA governor

Other Options Considered

5. No other options have been considered.

Reason/s for Recommendation/s

6. This report is for noting only

Statutory and Policy Implications

7. This report has been compiled after consideration of implications in respect of crime and disorder, data protection and information governance, finance, human resources, human rights, the NHS Constitution (public health services), the public sector equality duty, safeguarding of children and adults at risk, service users, smarter working, sustainability and the environment and where such implications are material they are described below. Appropriate consultation has been undertaken and advice sought on these issues as required.

RECOMMENDATION/S

1) That Committee considers the appointment of Local Authority governors to school governing bodies during the period 8 June to 18 October 2017 as listed in paragraph 4.

Marion Clay Service Director, Education, Learning and Skills

For any enquiries about this report please contact:

Jane Mansell
Acting Team Manager, Governor Services
T: 0115 8040628/07860 597832
E: jane.mansell@nottscc.gov.uk

Constitutional Comments

8. As this report is for noting only, no Constitutional Comments are required.

Financial Comments (SAS 06/10/17)

9. There are no financial implications arising directly from this report.

Background Papers and Published Documents

None.

Electoral Division(s) and Member(s) Affected

Kirkby South Sutton North Tuxford

Bramcote and Beeston North

Nuthall and Kimberley

Toton, Chilwell and Attenborough

Arnold South Mansfield East Mansfield North Farndon & Trent

Cotgrave Bingham West Bingham East Cllr Rachel Madden Cllr Helen-Ann Smith

Cllr John Ogle Cllr Steve Carr Cllr Philip Owen

Cllr Eric Kerry and Cllr Richard Jackson Cllr John Clarke and Cllr Muriel Weisz

Cllr Vaughan Hopewell and Cllr Martin Wright Cllr Joyce Bosnjak and Cllr Parry Tsimbiridis

Cllr Sue Saddington Cllr Richard Butler Cllr Neil Clarke MBE Cllr Francis Purdue-Horan

C1044