

Nottinghamshire County Council

26th July 2021

Agenda Item: 18

REPORT OF THE SERVICE DIRECTOR, EDUCATION, LEARNING AND SKILLS

LOCAL AUTHORITY GOVERNOR APPOINTMENTS TO SCHOOL GOVERNING BODIES DURING THE PERIOD 18TH JANUARY TO 18TH JUNE 2021

Purpose of the Report

1. To update the Committee on the appointment of Local Authority (LA) governors to school governing bodies for the period 18th January to 18th June 2021 in accordance with the requirements of the Constitution.

Information

- 2. Under the School Governance (Constitution) (England) Regulations 2012, as amended by the School Governance (Constitution and Federations) (England) Amendment Regulations 2014, governing bodies of maintained schools were required to reconstitute to a skills-based model of governance by September 2015, and are allowed one Local Authority governor on the reconstituted governing body. For this model of governance, governing bodies may set eligibility criteria for, and appoint, the Local Authority governor.
- 3. Under these Regulations the County Council is responsible for nominating individuals as prospective governors. Nominations are made by the County Council, in accordance with the eligibility criteria provided by the governing body. When nominating new governors or re-nominating existing governors, the County Council must consider the skills and experience the governing body needs in order to be effective.
- 4. Local Authority governors nominated by the County Council and appointed by school governing bodies during the period 18th January to 18th June 2021 are as follows:

ASHFIELD	
Broomhill Junior School	Ms Ruth Stevens
	Reappointment to the category of LA governor
Orchard Primary and Nursery School	Mr Peter Creek
	Reappointment in the category of LA governor
BASSETLAW	
Walkeringham Primary School	Mr Lee McKone

	New appointment to the category of LA Governor.
St John's C of E Academy	Mrs Marzena Karp-Singh
	New appointment to the category of LA
	governor.
St Patrick's Catholic Primary	Mr David Jenkinson
Bircotes/Harworth	New appointment to the category of LA
	Governor.
Ordsall Primary School	Mr Michael Storey
	Reappointment to the category of LA Governor
Gateford Park Primary School	Mr Christopher Mann
	Reappointment to the category of LA Governor
BROXTOWE	
The Lanes Primary School	Mrs Sheila Birchall
	Reappointment to the category of LA governor
Larkfields Junior School	Mrs Jill Owen
	Reappointment to the category of LA governor
MANSFIELD	
Forest Town Primary School	Mr Andrew Fox
	New appointment to the category of LA
	governor.
Northfield Primary and Nursery School	Mr Neil Woodcock
	Reappointment to the category of LA governor
Berry Hill Primary School	Mr Gordon Taylor
	Reappointment to the category of LA governor
NEWARK	
Coddington CofE Primary School	Reverend Christopher Levy
	New appointment to the category of LA
	governor
Kirklington Primary School	Mrs Helen Rushby
	New appointment to the category of LA
	governor
RUSHCLIFFE	
Carnarvon Primary School	Mr Peter Broekhuizen
	Reappointed to the category of LA governor

Other Options Considered

5. No other options have been considered.

Reasons for Recommendation/s

6. The constitution requires the Corporate Directorate to report governor appointments to Committee on a quarterly basis.

Statutory and Policy Implications

7. This report has been compiled after consideration of implications in respect of crime and disorder, data protection and information governance, finance, human resources, human

rights, the NHS Constitution (public health services), the public sector equality duty, safeguarding of children and adults at risk, service users, smarter working, sustainability and the environment and where such implications are material they are described below. Appropriate consultation has been undertaken and advice sought on these issues as required.

Data Protection and Information Governance

8. The information contained within this report is already within the public domain and a privacy impact statement is therefore not needed.

RECOMMENDATION/S

1) That the Committee notes the appointments listed in the report and agrees to receive further updates regarding future appointments on a quarterly basis in accordance with the Constitution.

Marion Clay Service Director, Education, Learning & Skills

For any enquiries about this report please contact:

Sarah Sayer Team Manager T: 0115 9773231/07824 354973 E: <u>sarah.sayer@nottscc.gov.uk</u> (Governor Services Team Number 0115 8044666)

Constitutional Comments (LW 01/07/21)

9. Children and Young People's Committee is the appropriate body to consider the content of the report.

Financial Comments (MDN 05/07/21)

10. There are no financial implications arising directly from this report.

Background Papers and Published Documents

Except for previously published documents, which will be available elsewhere, the documents listed here will be available for inspection in accordance with Section 100D of the Local Government Act 1972.

None.

Electoral Divisions and Members Affected

Ashfield Hucknall South

Cllr Lee Waters

Bassetlaw Misterton Worksop West Blyth and Harworth Retford East

Broxtowe Toton

Nuthall and Kimberley

Mansfield Mansfield East

Mansfield North

Newark Collingham Muskham and Farnsfield

Rushcliffe Bingham East

C1486

Cllr Tracey Taylor Cllr Sybil Fielding Cllr Sheila Place Cllr Mike Introna

Cllr Richard Jackson Cllr Eric Kerry Cllr Philip Owen

Cllr Robert Corden Cllr Nigel Moxon Cllr Ben Bradley Cllr Anne Callaghan

Cllr Maureen Dobson Cllr Bruce Laughton

Cllr Francis Purdue-Horan