# Nottinghamshire County Council

Meeting COUNTY COUNCIL

Date Wednesday, 28 February 2018 (10.30 am – 4.40 pm)

# Membership

Persons absent are marked with 'A'

#### **COUNCILLORS**

John Handley (Chairman)
Mrs Sue Saddington (Vice-Chairman)

Reg Adair John Knight Pauline Allan **Bruce Laughton** Chris Barnfather John Longdon Rachel Madden Joyce Bosnjak Ben Bradley **David Martin** Nicki Brooks Diana Meale Andrew Brown John Oale Richard Butler Philip Owen **Steve Carr** Michael Payne John Clarke John Peck JP Neil Clarke MBE Sheila Place John Cottee Liz Plant Jim Creamer Mike Pringle

Mrs Kay Cutts MBE
Samantha Deakin
Mike Quigley MBE
Maureen Dobson
Alan Rhodes
Dr John Doddy
Kevin Rostance

**Boyd Elliott** Phil Rostance Svbil Fielding **Andy Sissons** Kate Foale Helen-Ann Smith Stephen Garner Tracey Taylor Glynn Gilfoyle Parry Tsimbiridis Keith Girling Steve Vickers **Kevin Greaves** Keith Walker Tony Harper Stuart Wallace

Errol Henry JP Muriel Weisz
Paul Henshaw Andy Wetton A
Tom Hollis Gordon Wheeler
Vaughan Hopewell Jonathan Wheeler
Richard Jackson Yvonne Woodhead

Roger Jackson Martin Wright Eric Kerry Jason Zadrozny

# **OFFICERS IN ATTENDANCE**

Anthony May (Chief Executive)

Paul McKay (Adult Social Care and Public Health)

Jayne Francis-Ward (Resources)

Barbara Brady (Adult Social Care and Public Health)
Colin Pettigrew (Children, Families and Cultural Service)

Adrian Smith (Place) Carl Bilbey (Resources) Angie Dilley (Resources) Martin Done (Resources) David Hennigan (Resources) Keith Ford (Resources) Anna O'Daly-Kardasinska (Resources) Keith Palframan (Resources) Neil Robinson (Resources) Nigel Stevenson (Resources)

# **OPENING PRAYER**

Upon the Council convening, prayers were led by the Venerable Robin Turner CB DL.

# MINUTE'S SILENCE

A minute's silence was held in memory of former County Councillor Reg Strauther.

# 1. MINUTES

**RESOLVED: 2018/005** 

That the minutes of the last meeting of the County Council held on 28 N 2017 be agreed as a true record and signed by the Chairman,

# 2. APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

An apology for absence was received from:-

Councillor Andy Wetton – medical/illness

# 3. <u>DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST</u>

None

# 4. CHAIRMAN'S BUSINESS

# FORMER COUNTY COUNCILLOR REG STRAUTHER

Councillors Alan Rhodes, Mrs Kay Cutts MBE, Joyce Bosnjak, Parry Tsimbiridis and Steve Carr spoke in memory of former County Councillor Reg Strauther.

# 5. **ANNUAL BUDGET 2018/19**

**ADULT SOCIAL CARE PRECEPT 2018/19** 

**COUNCIL TAX PRECEPT 2018/19** 

MEDIUM TERM FINANCIAL STRATEGY 2018/19 TO 2021/22

**CAPITAL PROGRAMME 2018/19 TO 2021/22** 

**CAPITAL STRATEGY 2018/19** 

Councillor Richard Jackson introduced the report and moved a motion in terms of resolution 2018/006 below, which was duly seconded by Councillors Roger Jackson and John Ogle.

The meeting adjourned from 12.30 pm to 1.30pm for lunch.

Following the debate, the motion was put to the meeting and after a show of hands the Chairman declared that it was won.

In line with legal requirements, a recorded vote was taken and it was ascertained that the following 35 Members voted '**For**' the motion:-

Reg Adair Bruce Laughton
Chris Barnfather John Longdon
Ben Bradley John Ogle
Andrew Brown Philip Owen

Richard Butler Francis Purdue-Horan
Neil Clarke MBE Mike Quigley MBE
John Cottee Kevin Rostance
Mrs Kay Cutts MBE Phil Rostance

Dr John Doddy Mrs Sue Saddington

**Boyd Elliott Andy Sissons** Stephen Garner Tracey Taylor Steve Vickers Keith Girling John Handley Keith Walker **Tony Harper** Stuart Wallace Vaughan Hopewell Gordon Wheeler Richard Jackson Jonathan Wheeler Roger Jackson Martin Wright

The following 28 Members voted 'Against' the motion:-

Eric Kerry

Pauline Allan
Joyce Bosnjak
David Martin
Nicki Brooks
Diana Meale
John Clarke
Jim Creamer
John Peck
Samantha Deakin
Rachel Madden
David Martin
Diana Meale
Michael Payne
John Peck
Sheila Place

Sybil Fielding
Kate Foale
Glynn Gilfoyle
Kevin Greaves
Firrol Henry
Parry Tsimbiridis
Paul Henshaw
Liz Plant
Mike Pringle
Alan Rhodes
Helen-Ann Smith
Parry Tsimbiridis
Muriel Weisz

Tom Hollis Yvonne Woodhead John Knight Jason Zadrozny

The following 2 Members abstained from the vote:-

Steve Carr Maureen Dobson

The Chairman declared the motion was carried and it was:-

#### **RESOLVED: 2018/006**

- 1) That the Annual Revenue Budget for Nottinghamshire County Council be set at £481.230 million for 2018/19.
- 2) That the principles underlying the Medium Term Financial Strategy be approved.
- 3) That the Finance and Major Contracts Management Committee be authorised to make allocations from the General Contingency for 2018/19.
- 4) That the 2.00% Adult Social Care Precept be levied in 2018/19 to part fund increasing adult social care costs.
- 5) That the Council element of the Council Tax be increased by 2.99% in 2018/19. That the standard Band D tax rate be set at £1,419.43 with the various other bands of property as set out in the report.
- 6) That the County Precept for the year ending 31 March 2019 shall be £351,016,650 and shall be applicable to the whole of the District Council areas as General Expenses.
- 7) That the County Precept for 2018/19 shall be collected from the District and Borough councils in the proportions set out in Table 7 of the report with the payment of equal instalments on the dates set out in the report.
- 8) That the Capital Programme for 2018/19 to 2021/22 be approved at the total amounts below and be financed as set out in the report:

Year	Capital Programme
2018/19	£112.771m
2019/20	£91.435m
2020/21	£50.274m
2021/22	£41.180m

- 9) That the variations to the Capital Programme be approved.
- 10) That the Minimum Revenue Position policy for 2018/19 be approved.
- 11) That the Capital Strategy including the 2018/19 Prudential Indicators and Treasury Management Strategy be approved.
- 12) That the Service Director Finance, Procurement and Improvement be authorised to raise loans in 2018/19 within the limits of total external borrowings.
- 13) That the Treasury Management Policy for 2018/19 be approved.
- 14) That the report be approved and adopted.

The Chairman declared the meeting closed at 4.40 pm.

# **CHAIRMAN**