

minutes

Meeting POLICY COMMITTEE

Date Wednesday, 17th July 2013 at 10:30am

membership

Persons absent are marked with `A'

COUNCILLORS

Alan Rhodes (Chairman) Joyce Bosnjak (Vice-Chairman)

А

Reg Adair Richard Butler Kay Cutts Glynn Gilfoyle Kevin Greaves Stan Heptinstall MBE Richard Jackson David Kirkham John Knight Diana Meale Philip Owen Liz Plant Martin Suthers OBE Gail Turner Muriel Weisz John Wilkinson Jason Zadrozny

ALSO IN ATTENDANCE

Councillor Roy Allan Councillor Alan Bell Councillor Nicki Brooks Councillor Steve Calvert Councillor Steve Carroll Councillor Kate Foale Councillor Darren Langton Councillor Sybil Fielding Councillor Sheila Place Councillor Yvonne Woodhead

OFFICERS IN ATTENDANCE

(Policy, Planning & Corporate Services) Carl Bilbey (Policy, Planning & Corporate Services) David Ebbage Jayne Francis-Ward (Policy, Planning & Corporate Services) Deborah Hinde (Policy, Planning & Corporate Services) Chris Holmes (Policy, Planning & Corporate Services) (Policy, Planning & Corporate Services) Jo Kirkby (Policy, Planning & Corporate Services) Marie Lewis Nicola McCoy-Brown(Policy, Planning & Corporate Services) Anthony May (Children, Families & Cultural Services) Hannah O'Callaghan(Environment & Resources) John Slater (Children, Families & Cultural Services)

Gill Thackrey	(Children, Families & Cultural Servces)
Andy Wallace	(Environment & Resources)
Michelle Welsh	(Policy, Planning & Corporate Services)

MEMBERSHIP OF THE POLICY COMMITTEE

The following changes to the membership were reported:-

Councillor Kevin Greaves had been reappointed in place of Councillor Steve Calvert Councillor Liz Plant has been appointed in place of Councillor John Peck. Councillor John Wilkinson has been appointed in place of Councillor Jim Creamer. Councillor Richard Butler has been appointed in place of Councillor Stuart Wallace.

MINUTES

The Minutes of the last meeting held on 19th June 2013 having been previously circulated were confirmed and signed by the Chairman subject to Councillor Yvonne Woodhead being included in the list of the members also in attendance.

APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

An apology for absence was received from Councillor Jason Zadrozny due to personal reasons.

DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST BY MEMBERS AND OFFICERS

None

FREEDOM OF INFORMATION LOG

RESOLVED 2013/053

That the publication of the log be approved and the development be noted.

SUPERFAST BROADBAND FOR NOTTINGHAMSHIRE

RESOLVED 2013/054

That approval be given for delegated authority to be granted to the Corporate Director for Policy, Planning & Corporate Services (as the programme's Senior Responsible Officer) following consultation with the Chair of the Economic Development Committee to:-

- 1) agree any amendments to the contract arising from the clarification process, provided these do not materially alter the parameters of the eventual contract offering.
- 2) authorise the County Council to enter into the contract at the conclusion of the approval processes.

IMPROVEMENT PROGRAMME OVERVIEW

RESOLVED 2013/055

That the report be noted.

UPDATE ON FLOOD RISK MANAGEMENT AND THE LOCAL FLOOD RISK MANAGEMENT STRATEGY

RESOLVED 2013/056

- 1) That the progress for delivering new responsibilities for flood risk management be noted.
- 2) That the continued development of the Local Flood Risk Management Strategy be approved.

DISCRETIONARY TRAVEL TO PREFERRED SCHOOLS

RESOLVED 2013/057

- 1) That approval be given to undertake a public consultation regarding a proposal that the rollout of the Discretionary Travel Scheme for children travelling to preferred schools be discontinued with effect from September 2014.
- That a further report for decision about the future of the scheme be brought to Policy Committee on 18th September 2013

WORK PROGRAMME

RESOLVED 2013/052

That the Committee's work programme be noted.

The meeting closed at 11.50 am.

CHAIRMAN

M_17Jul2013