

Report to Children and Young People's Committee

22nd February 2021

Agenda Item: 12

REPORT OF THE SERVICE DIRECTOR, EDUCATION, LEARNING AND SKILLS

LOCAL AUTHORITY GOVERNOR APPOINTMENTS TO SCHOOL GOVERNING BODIES DURING THE PERIOD 27 SEPTEMBER 2020 TO 17 JANUARY 2021

Purpose of the Report

1. To update the Committee on the appointment of Local Authority (LA) governors to school governing bodies for the period 27 September 2020 to 17 January 2021 in accordance with the requirements of the Constitution.

Information

- 2. Under the School Governance (Constitution) (England) Regulations 2012, as amended by the School Governance (Constitution and Federations) (England) Amendment Regulations 2014, governing bodies of maintained schools were required to reconstitute to a skills-based model of governance by September 2015, and are allowed one LA governor on the reconstituted governing body. For this model of governance, governing bodies may set eligibility criteria for, and appoint, the Local Authority governor.
- 3. Under these Regulations the County Council is responsible for nominating individuals as prospective governors. Nominations are made by the County Council, in accordance with the eligibility criteria provided by the governing body. When nominating new governors or re-nominating existing governors, the County Council must consider the skills and experience the governing body needs in order to be effective.
- 4. Local Authority governors nominated by the County Council and appointed by school governing bodies during the period 27 September 2020 to 17 January 2021 are as follows:

ASHFIELD	
Woodland View Primary School	Diane Bathgate
-	Approved to the category of LA Governor
Fountaindale Special School	Stacey Smith Approved to the category of LA Governor

BASSETLAW	
St Giles Shadow Governing Body	Alex Pearce-Gadsby
(St Special School)	Approved to the category of shadow co-
	opted governor
	William Iliffe
	Approved to the category of shadow LA
	governor
	Bridget Bower
	Approved to the category of shadow
	parent governor
	David Stewart
	Approved to the category of shadow co-
	opted governor
	Ciara Sachdeva
	Approved to the category of shadow
	parent governor
	Donna-Anne Edwards
	Approved to the category of shadow staff
	governor
	Linda Foster
	Approved to the category of shadow co-
	opted governor
North Wheatley C of E Primary School	Laura Cole
	Approved to the category of LA Governor
Misterton Primary and Nursery School	lan White
	Approved to the category of LA Governor
Ramsden Primary School	Mr John Unwin
	Approved to the category of LA Governor
GEDLING	
Pinewood Infant School and Foundation	Paul Litowczuk
Unit	Approved to the category of LA Governor
NEWARK	
Lowdham C of E Primary School	Christine Saunders
	Approved to the category of LA Governor
Sutton on Trent Primary School	Rebecca Jackson
	Approved to the category of LA Governor
Coddington Primary School	Phil Drabble
	Approved to the category of LA Governor
Newark Lovers Lane School	Susan Bowler
	Approved to the category of LA Governor
Lake View Primary School	Mohamed Abouelatta
Ti Mi colo i	Approved to the category of LA Governor
The Minster School	Michele Atkinson
	Approved to the category of LA Governor

Other Options Considered

5. No other options have been considered.

Reasons for Recommendation/s

6. The constitution requires the Corporate Directorate to report governor appointments to Committee on a quarterly basis.

Statutory and Policy Implications

7. This report has been compiled after consideration of implications in respect of crime and disorder, data protection and information governance, finance, human resources, human rights, the NHS Constitution (public health services), the public sector equality duty, safeguarding of children and adults at risk, service users, smarter working, sustainability and the environment and where such implications are material they are described below. Appropriate consultation has been undertaken and advice sought on these issues as required.

Data Protection and Information Governance

8. The information contained within this report is already within the public domain and a privacy impact statement is therefore not needed.

RECOMMENDATION/S

1) That the Committee receives further updates regarding future appointments on a quarterly basis in accordance with the Constitution.

Marion Clay Service Director, Education, Learning & Skills

For any enquiries about this report please contact:

Sarah Sayer Team Manager

T: 0115 9773231/07824 354973 E: <u>sarah.sayer@nottscc.gov.uk</u>

Constitutional Comments (KK 20/01/21)

9. The proposal in this report is within the remit of the Children and Young People's Committee.

Financial Comments (SS 22/01/21)

10. There are no financial implications arising directly from this report.

Background Papers and Published Documents

Except for previously published documents, which will be available elsewhere, the documents listed here will be available for inspection in accordance with Section 100D of the Local Government Act 1972.

None.

Electoral Divisions and Members Affected

Ashfield

Sutton West Cllr Tom Hollis

Bassetlaw

Retford West
Tuxford
Cllr John Ogle
Misterton
Cllr Tracey Taylor
Worksop North
Cllr Alan Rhodes

Gedling

Arnold North Cllr Pauline Allan

Cllr Michael Payne

Newark

Southwell Cllr Roger Jackson
Muskham and Farnsfield Cllr Bruce Laughton
Collingham Cllr Maureen Dobson
Blidworth Cllr Yvonne Woodhead

C1441