

# Report to Children and Young People's Committee

20 March 2016

Agenda Item: 12

# REPORT OF THE ACTING SERVICE DIRECTOR, EDUCATION STANDARDS AND INCLUSION

LOCAL AUTHORITY GOVERNOR APPOINTMENTS TO SCHOOL GOVERNING BODIES DURING THE PERIOD 1 NOVEMBER 2016 TO 22 FEBRUARY 2017

# **Purpose of the Report**

- 1. To note the appointment of Local Authority (LA) governors to school governing bodies during the period 1 November 2016 to 22 February 2017.
- 2. To note the appointment of Local Authority, co-opted, parent and staff governors to the Temporary Governing Body of Meadow Lane Infant School and College House Junior School.

#### Information and Advice

- 3. Under the School Governance (Constitution) (England) Regulations 2012, as amended by the School Governance (Constitution and Federations) (England) Amendment Regulations 2014, governing bodies of maintained schools were required to reconstitute to a skills-based model of governance by September 2015, and are allowed one LA governor on the reconstituted governing body. For this model of governance, governing bodies may set eligibility criteria for, and appoint, the Local Authority governor.
- 4. Under these Regulations the County Council is responsible for nominating individuals as prospective governors. Nominations are made by the County Council, in accordance with the eligibility criteria provided by the governing body. When nominating new governors or re-nominating existing governors, the County Council must consider the skills and experience the governing body needs in order to be effective
- 5. Local Authority governors nominated by the County Council and appointed by school governing bodies during the period 1 November 2016 to 22 February 2017 are as follows:

ASHFIELD		
Hillocks Primary	Mrs Amanda Brown	
BASSETLAW		
East Markham Primary	Dr Oonah Ridgway	
Misson Primary	Mrs Anna Doyle	

BROXTOWE	
Alderman Pounder Infant and Nursery	Mr Peter John Gould
Toton Bispham Drive Junior	Mr Ian Craik
GEDLING	
Linby cum Papplewick CofE (VA) Primary	Mr Ian Griffiths
Woodborough Wood's Foundation C of E	Mr Gregory Sharp
V/A Primary	
MANSFIELD	
Holly Primary	Mrs Christine Helen Flinton
King Edward Primary and Nursery	Mr Robert Ian Tyler
Sherwood Junior	Dr John Rees
St Edmund's CofE Primary	Mr Garry James Dakyn Hall
Wynndale Primary	Miss Lisa Barling
NEWARK	
Coddington CofE VC Primary	Mrs Anita Spray
Gunthorpe CofE VA Primary	Mrs Linda Brammer
Southwell Minster C of E VA	Mr Anthony Philip Colton
Comprehensive	
RUSHCLIFFE	
Flintham Primary	Mr Richard Broughton
Sutton Bonington Primary School	Dr Gareth William Hall

6. Nominations and appointments to the temporary governing body of Meadow Lane Infant School and College House Primary School are as follows:

BROXTOWE	
Mrs Rachel Briody	Parent
Mr Bradley Moore	Parent
Mrs Sarah Brown	Parent
Mrs Natalie Masters	Parent
Mr Andrew Barker	Co-opted
Mr Robert Nigel Guyler	Co-opted
Mrs Cheryl Heath	Co-opted
Thomas Anthony Herbert	Co-opted
Mrs Sheila Mary Birchall	Local Authority
Ms Victoria Tewson	Staff

## **Other Options Considered**

7. Nottinghamshire County Council's strategy for recruiting and retaining school governors includes the re-appointment of existing governors. The County Council sees many advantages in retaining experienced governors and actively seeks to encourage governors approaching their end of term of office to stand again either in the same school or in a different school. The appointments made ensure the retention and supply of experienced governors.

### Reason/s for Recommendation/s

8. The report is for noting only.

## **Statutory and Policy Implications**

9. This report has been compiled after consideration of implications in respect of crime and disorder, finance, human resources, human rights, the NHS Constitution (public health services), the public sector equality duty, safeguarding of children and adults at risk, service users, sustainability and the environment and ways of working and where such implications are material they are described below. Appropriate consultation has been undertaken and advice sought on these issues as required.

#### **RECOMMENDATION/S**

1) That the Committee notes the appointment of Local Authority governors to school governing bodies during the period 1 November 2016 to 22 February 2017 as listed in paragraphs 5 and 6.

#### **Marion Clay**

**Acting Service Director, Education Standards and Inclusion** 

#### For any enquiries about this report please contact:

Jane Mansell

Acting Team Manager, Governor Services

T: 0115 8040628/ 07860 597832 E: jane.mansell@nottscc.gov.uk

#### **Constitutional Comments**

10. As this report is for noting only, no Constitutional Comments are required

#### Financial Comments (SS 27/02/17)

11. There are no financial implications arising directly from this report.

### **Background Papers and Published Documents**

None.

#### Electoral Division(s) and Member(s) Affected

Sutton in Ashfield East

Tuxford

Misterton

Cllr Steve Carroll

Cllr John Ogle

Cllr Liz Yates

Chilwell and Toton Cllr Richard Jackson and Cllr John Doddy

Newstead Cllr Christopher Barnfather

Calverton Cllr Boyd Elliott

Mansfield East Cllr Alan Bell and Cllr Colleen Harwood
Mansfield South Cllr Stephen Garner and Cllr Andy Sissons

Warsop Cllr John Allin

Mansfield North
Collingham
Farnsfield & Lowdham
Southwell and Caunton
Radcliffe-on-Trent
Soar Valley

Cllr Joyce Bosnjak and Cllr Parry Tsimbiridis Cllr Maureen Dobson Cllr Roger Jackson Cllr Bruce Laughton Cllr Kay Cutts Cllr Andrew Brown

C0967