

Report to Children and Young People's Committee

2nd November 2020

Agenda Item: 12

REPORT OF THE SERVICE DIRECTOR, EDUCATION, LEARNING AND SKILLS

LOCAL AUTHORITY GOVERNOR APPOINTMENTS TO SCHOOL GOVERNING BODIES DURING THE PERIOD 13 FEBRUARY TO 27 SEPTEMBER 2020

Purpose of the Report

1. To update the Committee on the appointment of Local Authority (LA) governors to school governing bodies for the period 13 February to 27 September 2020 in accordance with the requirements of the Constitution.

Information

- 2. Under the School Governance (Constitution) (England) Regulations 2012, as amended by the School Governance (Constitution and Federations) (England) Amendment Regulations 2014, governing bodies of maintained schools were required to reconstitute to a skills-based model of governance by September 2015, and are allowed one LA governor on the reconstituted governing body. For this model of governance, governing bodies may set eligibility criteria for, and appoint, the Local Authority governor.
- 3. Under these Regulations the County Council is responsible for nominating individuals as prospective governors. Nominations are made by the County Council, in accordance with the eligibility criteria provided by the governing body. When nominating new governors or re-nominating existing governors, the County Council must consider the skills and experience the governing body needs in order to be effective.
- 4. Local Authority governors nominated by the County Council and appointed by school governing bodies during the period 13 February to 27 September 2020 are as follows:

ASHFIELD	
Jacksdale Primary School	Mrs Betty Dixon
	Re-appointment to the category of LA
	Governor
Leen Mills Primary school	Joanne Denyer
·	New appointment to the category of LA
	Governor

Sutton Road Primary School	Mrs Rebecca Jackson New appointment to the category of LA Governor
Holgate Primary School	Mrs Rebecca Jackson New appointment to the category of LA Governor
Dalestorth Primary	Mr Robert Barsby Re-appointment to the category of LA Governor
Annesley Primary	Mr James Lawrence New Appointment to the category of LA Governor
BASSETLAW	
Haggonfields Primary	Councillor Sybil Fielding Re-Appointment to the category of LA Governor
Prospect Hill Infant and Nursery	Mrs Rebecca Yahia New appointment to the category of LA Governor
East Markham Primary	Mrs Josephine Bridge New appointment to the category of LA governor
BROXTOWE	
Springbank Primary	Mr Mark Bayliss New appointment to the category of LA Governor
Round Hill Primary	Mrs Hilary Craik Re-Appointment to the category of LA Governor
Brinsley Primary & Nursery	Mr Richard Chamberlain New appointment to the category of LA Governor
GEDLING	
Coppice Farm Primary	Miss Mica-May Smith New Appointment to the category of LA Governor
Woodthorpe Infant School	Miss Sarah Spencer New Appointment to the category of LA Governor
All Hallows C of E Primary	Mr Aamar Hussain New Appointment to the category of LA Governor
Lambley Primary	Mr Wayne Stephen Bright New Appointment to the category of LA Governor
Woodborough Wood's Foundation C/E V/A	Mrs Sharon Johnson New Appointment to the category of LA Governor

MANSFIELD	
Heatherley	Mr Robert Lyons
,	Re-Appointment to the category of LA
	Governor
Leas Park Junior	Mr Ian Dentith
	Re-Appointment to the category of LA
	Governor
St Peter's CofE Primary Academy,	Mrs Christine Bacon
Mansfield	Re-Appointment to the category of LA
	Governor
NEWARK	
Ravenshead Primary	Mrs Sue Hunt
	Re-Appointment to the category of LA
	Governor
Kneesall CofE Primary	Ms Nicola Mills
	New appointment to the category of LA
	Governor
King Edwin Primary and Nursery	Mr Richard Empson
	Re-appointment to the category of LA
	Governor
The Mount C of E Primary School	Mr Richard Haig
	Reappointment to the category of LA
	Governor
RUSHCLIFFE	
Orston Primary	Mr Daniel Gooding
	New appointment to the category of LA
	Governor

Other Options Considered

5. No other options have been considered.

Reasons for Recommendation/s

6. The constitution requires the Corporate Directorate to report governor appointments to Committee on a quarterly basis.

Statutory and Policy Implications

7. This report has been compiled after consideration of implications in respect of crime and disorder, data protection and information governance, finance, human resources, human rights, the NHS Constitution (public health services), the public sector equality duty, safeguarding of children and adults at risk, service users, smarter working, sustainability and the environment and where such implications are material they are described below. Appropriate consultation has been undertaken and advice sought on these issues as required.

Data Protection and Information Governance

8. The information contained within this report is already within the public domain and a privacy impact statement is therefore not needed.

RECOMMENDATION/S

1) That the Committee receives further updates regarding future appointments on a quarterly basis in accordance with the Constitution.

Marion Clay Service Director, Education, Learning & Skills

For any enquiries about this report please contact:

Sarah Sayer Team Manager

T: 0115 9773231/07824 354973 E: sarah.sayer@nottscc.gov.uk

Constitutional Comments (SS 30/09/20)

9. It is appropriate for the Children and Young People's Committee to consider this report and request further updates quarterly.

Financial Comments (SAS 02/10/20)

10. There are no financial implications arising directly from this report.

Background Papers and Published Documents

Except for previously published documents, which will be available elsewhere, the documents listed here will be available for inspection in accordance with Section 100D of the Local Government Act 1972.

None.

Electoral Divisions and Members Affected

Ashfield

Selston

Hucknall North

Hucknall West

Sutton North

Kirkby South

Cllr David Martin

Cllr Ben Bradley

Cllr Kevin Rostance

Cllr Helen-Ann Smith

Cllr Rachel Madden

Bassetlaw

Worksop West Cllr Sybil Fielding Worksop North Cllr Alan Rhodes Tuxford Cllr John Ogle

Broxtowe

Eastwood
Beeston Central and Rylands
Greasley and Brinsley

Gedling

Arnold North Arnold South Carlton West Calverton

Mansfield

Mansfield East Mansfield North

Newark

Newstead Muskham and Farnsfield Sherwood Forest Farndon and Trent

Rushcliffe

Bingham East

C1392

Cllr Tony Harper Cllr Kate Foale Cllr John Handley

Cllr Pauline Allan & Cllr Michael Payne Cllr John Clarke & Cllr Muriel Weisz Cllr Jim Creamer & Cllr Errol Henry

Cllr Boyd Elliott

Cllr Vaughan Hopewell & Cllr Martin Wright Cllr Joyce Bosnjak & Cllr Parry Tsimbiridis

Cllr Chris Barnfather Cllr Bruce Laughton Cllr John Peck Cllr Sue Saddington

Cllr Francis Purdue-Horan