

# Report to Children and Young People's Committee

18 September 2017

Agenda Item: 16

## REPORT OF THE SERVICE DIRECTOR, EDUCATION, LEARNING & SKILLS

# LOCAL AUTHORITY GOVERNOR APPOINTMENTS TO SCHOOL GOVERNING BODIES DURING THE PERIOD 1 MAY TO 19 JULY 2017

## **Purpose of the Report**

1. To note the appointment of Local Authority (LA) governors to school governing bodies for the period 1 May to 19 July 2017.

#### **Information and Advice**

- 2. Under the School Governance (Constitution) (England) Regulations 2012, as amended by the School Governance (Constitution and Federations) (England) Amendment Regulations 2014, governing bodies of maintained schools were required to reconstitute to a skills-based model of governance by September 2015, and are allowed one LA governor on the reconstituted governing body. For this model of governance, governing bodies may set eligibility criteria for, and appoint, the Local Authority governor.
- 3. Under these Regulations the County Council is responsible for nominating individuals as prospective governors. Nominations are made by the County Council, in accordance with the eligibility criteria provided by the governing body. When nominating new governors or re-nominating existing governors, the County Council must consider the skills and experience the governing body needs in order to be effective
- 4. Local Authority governors nominated by the County Council and appointed by school governing bodies during the period 1 May to 19 July 2017 are as follows;

ASHFIELD	
Annesley Primary and Nursery	Mr Mark Thixton  New appointment to the category of LA  governor
Broomhill Junior	Ms Ruth Stevens New appointment to the category of LA governor
BASSETLAW	
Harworth Church of England	Mr Kenneth Hawley
Academy	New appointment to the category of LA governor

NEWARK	
Averham Manners Sutton Community	Mr lan Bradey Existing governor, now appointed to the category of LA governor on the same governing body
Maun Infant and Nursery	Mrs Claire Harradine Existing governor, now appointed to the category of LA governor on the same governing body
RUSHCLIFFE	
Lantern Lane Primary	Mr Christopher John Robinson Re-appointed LA governor
Radcliffe on Trent Junior	Councillor Kay Cutts Re-appointed LA governor
West Bridgford Junior	Mrs Jane Metson Existing governor, now appointed to the category of LA governor on the same governing body

### **Other Options Considered**

5. No other options have been considered.

#### Reason/s for Recommendation/s

6. This report is for noting only.

# **Statutory and Policy Implications**

7. This report has been compiled after consideration of implications in respect of crime and disorder, finance, human resources, human rights, the NHS Constitution (public health services), the public sector equality duty, safeguarding of children and adults at risk, service users, sustainability and the environment and ways of working and where such implications are material they are described below. Appropriate consultation has been undertaken and advice sought on these issues as required.

#### **RECOMMENDATION/S**

1) That the Committee notes the appointment of Local Authority governors to school governing bodies during the period 1 May to 19 July 2017 as listed in paragraph 4.

Marion Clay Service Director, Education, Learning and Skills

## For any enquiries about this report please contact:

Jane Mansell Acting Team Manager, Governor Services T: 0115 8040628/07860 597832 E: jane.mansell@nottscc.gov.uk

#### **Constitutional Comments**

8. As this report is for noting only, no Constitutional Comments are required.

## Financial Comments (SAS 01/09/17)

9. There are no financial implications arising directly from this report.

### **Background Papers and Published Documents**

None.

## Electoral Division(s) and Member(s) Affected

Kirkby South
Hucknall South
Blyth and Harworth
Farndon & Trent
Ollerton
Leake and Ruddington
Radcliffe-on-Trent
West Bridgford South

Cllr Rachel Madden
Cllr Phil Rostance
Cllr Sheila Place
Cllr Susan Saddington
Cllr Mike Pringle
Cllr Reg Adair and Cllr Andy Brown
Cllr Kay Cutts

Cllr Jonathan Wheeler

C1019