

Report to Children and Young People's Committee

16 July 2012

Agenda Item: 11

REPORT OF THE SERVICE DIRECTOR FOR EDUCATION STANDARDS AND INCLUSION

AUTHORITY GOVERNOR APPOINTMENTS AND REAPPOINTMENTS TO SCHOOL GOVERNING BODIES

Purpose of the Report

 To note new appointments to Authority governor vacancies and re-appointments of Authority governors who reach the end of their term of office during the period 1 June to 31 August 2012 and have indicated their willingness to serve a further four year term of office.

Information and Advice

- 2. In line with the procedures set out in the Local Authority's governor recruitment strategy, officers sought new nominations to outstanding vacancies from political parties and from school governing bodies.
- 3. A number of Authority governors who were approaching the end of their term of office were identified and each governor was asked whether he or she would be willing to serve as an Authority governor for a further term of four years. Those governors re-appointed had indicated their willingness to be re-nominated.
- 4. The Corporate Director for Children, Families and Cultural Services has delegated authority to approve school governor appointments for which the Council has responsibility and is required to report the decisions quarterly to the Children and Young People's Committee.
- 5. The new appointments and re-appointments of Authority governors, which are made subject to the successful completion of appropriate checks, are as listed below:

New appointments

Ashfield		
Healdswood Infant & Nursery	Mr John Foster	
Healdswood Infant & Nursery	Mr Peter Jones	
Broxtowe		
Meadow Lane Infant	Mr Jason Beardsley	
Gedling	·	

Bestwood Village Hawthorne Primary & Nursery	Mr Mark Brown	
Mansfield		
Berry Hill Primary & Nursery	Mr Andrew Mark Tristram	
Holly Primary	Councillor Martin Christopher Wright	
Rushcliffe		
Radcliffe on Trent Junior	Miss Karen Raynor	
The South Wolds Academy & Sixth Form	Councillor John Elliott Cottee	

Reappointments

Ashfield	
Annie Holgate Junior	Mrs Samantha Olive King
Butler's Hill Infant and Nursery	Mrs Shirley May Robbins
Daneswood Junior	Mr John Baker
Hillside Primary & Nursery	Mrs Sarah Jane Newbold Hill
Holy Cross Catholic Primary	Mr Rodney Edward Allen
Jacksdale Primary	Mrs Betty Dixon
John Davies Primary	Mr Robert David Purseglove
Leamington Primary and Nursery	Councillor Mrs May Barsby
Morven Park Primary	Mr Michael John Hitchens
Bassetlaw	
St Joseph's Catholic Primary	Mr Kevin Patrick Murphy
Broxtowe	
Greasley Beauvale Primary	Mr John William Handley
Larkfields Junior	Mr Timothy Andrew McGuire
Meadow Lane Infant	Mrs Sheila Mary Birchall
Eastwood Comprehensive	Mr Kevin Edwards
Gedling	
Bestwood Village Hawthorne Primary and Nursery	Mrs Marlene Walker
Phoenix Infant and Nursery	Mrs Doreen Leighton
Stanhope Primary & Nursery	Mrs Helen McLaren
Newark	
Kneesall CE Primary	Mrs Wendy Leighton
Lake View Primary & Nursery	Mr Richard Andrew Cotterill
Rushcliffe	
Abbey Road Primary	Councillor John Bannister
Flintham Primary	Mrs Avril Muriel Bear
Pierrepont Gamston Primary School (V/A)	Mr Alan Christopher Rowney
Radcliffe-on-Trent Infant and Nursery	Mr Brian William Hollis

Radcliffe-on-Trent Junior	Mr Brian William Hollis
West Bridgford Infant	Ms Elizabeth Ann Plant
West Bridgford Junior	Mrs Jane Metson

Other Options Considered

- 6. There are no other options. The County Council has a statutory duty to ensure governor vacancies are filled without undue delay.
- 7. Nottinghamshire County Council's strategy for recruiting and retaining school governors includes the re-appointment of existing governors. The County Council sees many advantages in retaining experienced governors and actively seeks to encourage governors approaching their end of term of office to stand again either in the same school or in a different one. The appointments made ensure the retention and supply of experienced governors.

Statutory and Policy Implications

8. This report has been compiled after consideration of implications in respect of finance, equal opportunities, human resources, crime and disorder, human rights, the safeguarding of children, sustainability and the environment and those using the service and where such implications are material they are described below. Appropriate consultation has been undertaken and advice sought on these issues as required.

Equalities Implications

- 9. New nominations have been encouraged and received from a broad range of sources. We welcome applications from all types of people, especially those from ethnic minority communities and under-represented groups such as disabled people.
- 10. All existing Authority governors approaching the end of their term of office have had the opportunity to put themselves forward for re-nomination.

RECOMMENDATION/S

1) That new appointments to Authority governor vacancies and re-appointments of Authority governors who reach the end of their term of office during the period 1 June to 31 August 2012, as listed in paragraph 5, are noted.

John Slater Service Director, Education Standards and Inclusion

For any enquiries about this report please contact:

Leonie Meikle
Team Manager, Governor Services
T: 0115 854 6055
E: leonie.meikle@nottscc.gov.uk
Constitutional Comments

11. As the report is for noting only, no Constitutional Comments are required.

Financial Comments (NDR 27/06/12)

12. There are no financial implications arising directly from this report.

Background Papers

Completed Authority governor nomination forms

Except for previously published documents, which will be available elsewhere, the documents listed here will be available for inspection in accordance with Section 100D of the Local Government Act 1972.

Electoral Division(s) and Member(s) Affected

Hucknall Coun Mick Murphy

Coun Kevin Rostance Coun Rev Tom Irvine Coun Gail Turner

Selston Coun Gail Turner
Sutton in Ashfield North Coun Jason Zadrozny

Sutton in Ashfield West
Sutton in Ashfield East
Coun Fiona Asbury
Coun Steven Carroll
Kirkby in Ashfield North
Coun John Knight

Retford West
Coun Mike Quigley
Chilwell & Toton
Coun Dr John Doddy
Coun Richard Jackson
Beauvale
Coun David Taylor

Nuthall Coun Philip Owen
Newstead Coun Christopher Barnfather

Carlton East Coun Allen Clarke
Coun John Clarke

Carlton West

Coun Darrell Pulk
Coun Jim Creamer
South Mansfield

Coun Chris Winterton

South Mansheld Coun Chris Winterton
Coun Stephen Garner

Coun Stephen Garner
East Mansfield Coun Bob Cross

Blidworth Coun Martin Wright Coun Geoff Merry

Southwell & Caunton

West Bridgford Central & South

Coun Bruce Laughton

Coun Michael Cox

Coun Borrio Conner

Coun Barrie Cooper
Radcliffe-on-Trent Coun Kay Cutts

Radcliffe-on-Trent Coun Kay Cutts
Keyworth Coun John Cottee

C0034