

Report to Children and Young People's Committee

19 June 2017

Agenda Item: 9

REPORT OF THE INTERIM DIRECTOR, EDUCATION, LEARNING AND SKILLS

LOCAL AUTHORITY GOVERNOR APPOINTMENTS TO SCHOOL GOVERNING BODIES DURING THE PERIOD 1 MARCH TO 10 APRIL 2017

Purpose of the Report

- 1. To note the appointment of Local Authority (LA) governors to school governing bodies for the period 1 March to 10 April 2017.
- 2. To note the appointment of Additional Local Authority governors to the governing body of Awsworth Primary School.

Information and Advice

- 3. Under the School Governance (Constitution) (England) Regulations 2012, as amended by the School Governance (Constitution and Federations) (England) Amendment Regulations 2014, governing bodies of maintained schools were required to reconstitute to a skills-based model of governance by September 2015, and are allowed one LA governor on the reconstituted governing body. For this model of governance, governing bodies may set eligibility criteria for, and appoint, the Local Authority governor.
- 4. Under these Regulations the County Council is responsible for nominating individuals as prospective governors. Nominations are made by the County Council, in accordance with the eligibility criteria provided by the governing body. When nominating new governors or re-nominating existing governors, the County Council must consider the skills and experience the governing body needs in order to be effective.
- 5. Local Authority governors nominated by the County Council and appointed by school governing bodies during the period 1 March to 10 April 2017 are as follows:

ASHFIELD		
Kingsway Primary	Mrs Elsie Wilkinson	
BROXTOWE		
Beeston Rylands	Mr Michael Jackson	

MANSFIELD		
Berry Hill Primary and Nursery	Mr Gordon Taylor	
Sutton Road Primary	Mrs Leigh-Ann Higgins	
NEWARK		
Sutton on Trent Primary	Mrs Rebecca Jackson	

6. The appointment of Additional Local Authority governors to the governing body of Awsworth Primary School are as follows:

BROXTOWE	
Awsworth Primary	Mr Simon Massarella
Awsworth Primary	Mrs Judith Munro

Other Options Considered

7. Nottinghamshire County Council's strategy for recruiting and retaining school governors includes the re-appointment of existing governors. The County Council sees many advantages in retaining experienced governors and actively seeks to encourage governors approaching their end of term of office to stand again either in the same school or in a different school. The appointments made ensure the retention and supply of experienced governors.

Reason/s for Recommendation/s

8. This report is for noting only

Statutory and Policy Implications

9. This report has been compiled after consideration of implications in respect of crime and disorder, finance, human resources, human rights, the NHS Constitution (public health services), the public sector equality duty, safeguarding of children and adults at risk, service users, sustainability and the environment and ways of working and where such implications are material they are described below. Appropriate consultation has been undertaken and advice sought on these issues as required.

RECOMMENDATION/S

1) That the Committee notes the appointment of Local Authority and Additional Local Authority governors to school governing bodies during the period 1 March to 10 April 2017 as listed in paragraphs 5 and 6.

Marion Clay Interim Director, Education, Learning and Skills

For any enquiries about this report please contact:

Jane Mansell Acting Team Manager, Governor Services T: 0115 8040628/07860 597832 E: jane.mansell@nottscc.gov.uk

Constitutional Comments

10. As this report is for noting only, no Constitutional Comments are required.

Financial Comments (SS 12/05/17)

11. There are no financial implications arising directly from this report.

Background Papers and Published Documents

None.

Electoral Division(s) and Member(s) Affected

Kirkby North
Beeston Central and Rylands
Mansfield South
Mansfield West
Muskham and Farnsfield
Stapleford and Broxtowe Central

Cllr John Knight
Cllr Kate Foale
Cllr Stephen Garner and

Cllr Stephen Garner and Cllr Andy Sissons Cllr Paul Henshaw and Cllr Diana Meale

Cllr Bruce Laughton

Cllr John Doddy and Cllr John Longdon

C0988