

Report to Children and Young People's Committee

7th March 2022

Agenda Item: 16

REPORT OF THE SERVICE DIRECTOR, EDUCATION, LEARNING AND SKILLS

LOCAL AUTHORITY GOVERNOR APPOINTMENTS TO SCHOOL GOVERNING BODIES DURING THE PERIOD 30TH SEPTEMBER 2021 TO 1ST FEBRUARY 2022

Purpose of the Report

1. To update the Committee on the appointment of Local Authority (LA) governors to school governing bodies for the period 30th September 2021 to 1st February 2022 in accordance with the requirements of the Constitution.

Information

- 2. Under the School Governance (Constitution) (England) Regulations 2012, as amended by the School Governance (Constitution and Federations) (England) Amendment Regulations 2014, governing bodies of maintained schools were required to reconstitute to a skills-based model of governance by September 2015, and are allowed one Local Authority governor on the reconstituted governing body. For this model of governance, governing bodies may set eligibility criteria for, and appoint, the Local Authority governor.
- 3. Under these Regulations the County Council is responsible for nominating individuals as prospective governors. Nominations are made by the County Council, in accordance with the eligibility criteria provided by the governing body. When nominating new governors or re-nominating existing governors, the County Council must consider the skills and experience the governing body needs in order to be effective.
- 4. Local Authority governors nominated by the County Council and appointed by school governing bodies during the period 30th September 2021 to 1st February 2022 are as follows:

ASHFIELD	
Selston Bagthorpe Primary School	Miss Liz Kitts Re-appointment to the category of LA Governor

Bracken Hill	Mr Phil Lakin Re-appointment to the category of LA Governor
Abbey Hill Primary	Mr Karl Simpson Re-appointment to the category of LA Governor
BASSETLAW	
Elkesley Primary School	Mr Michael Moss New appointment to the category of LA governor
BROXTOWE	
Greasley Beauvale Primary School	Reverend Denise Dodds New appointment to the category of LA governor
GEDLING	
Coppice Farm Primary	Mrs Elizabeth Terzza New appointment to the category of LA governor
MANSFIELD	
Asquith Primary	Sandra Towson Reappointed to the category of LA governor
Blidworth Oaks Primary School	Angela Penney Reappointed to the category of LA governor
Farmilo Primary and Nursery	Leanne Rodgers New appointment to the category of LA governor
NEWARK	
John Blow Primary School	Reverend Mandy Cartwright Reappointed to the category of LA governor
RUSHCLIFFE	
Gotham Primary School	Mr Andrew Howard New appointment to the category of LA governor
Costock C of E Primary School	Mrs Sarah Smith Reappointed to the category of LA governor
Lady Bay Primary School	Mr Martin Holden Reappointed to the category of LA governor

Other Options Considered

5. No other options have been considered.

Reasons for Recommendation/s

6. The constitution requires the Corporate Directorate to report governor appointments to Committee on a quarterly basis.

Statutory and Policy Implications

7. This report has been compiled after consideration of implications in respect of crime and disorder, data protection and information governance, finance, human resources, human rights, the NHS Constitution (public health services), the public sector equality duty, safeguarding of children and adults at risk, service users, smarter working, sustainability and the environment and where such implications are material they are described below. Appropriate consultation has been undertaken and advice sought on these issues as required.

Data Protection and Information Governance

8. The information contained within this report is already within the public domain and a privacy impact statement is therefore not needed.

RECOMMENDATION/S

1) That further updates regarding future appointments be provided as appropriate in accordance with the Constitution.

Marion Clay Service Director, Education, Learning & Skills

For any enquiries about this report please contact:

Sarah Sayer Team Manager

T: 0115 9773231/07824 354973 E: sarah.sayer@nottscc.gov.uk

Constitutional Comments (EKH 23/02/22)

9. Children and Young People's Committee is the appropriate body to consider the content of this report.

Financial Comments (MDN 22/02/22)

10. There are no financial implications arising directly from this report.

Background Papers and Published Documents

Except for previously published documents, which will be available elsewhere, the documents listed here will be available for inspection in accordance with Section 100D of the Local Government Act 1972.

None.

Electoral Divisions and Members Affected

Ashfield

Selston Councillor David Martin Kirkby North Councillor Andy Meakin

Bassetlaw

Worksop South Councillor Nigel Turner

Broxtowe

Greasley and Brinsley Councillor Elizabeth Williamson

Gedling

Arnold North Councillor Pauline Allan Arnold North Councillor Michael Payne

Mansfield

Blidworth Councillor Tom Smith
Mansfield South Councillor André Camilleri
Mansfield South Councillor Stephen Garner
Mansfield West Councillor Sinead Anderson
Mansfield West Councillor Paul Henshaw

Newark

Collingham Vacancy

Rushcliffe

Leake and Ruddington

Councillor Matt Barney
Councillor Reg Adair

Keyworth Councillor John Cottee
West Bridgford North Councillor Penny Gowland

C1544