We've made some changes to our website. You may find some areas still in development. Read more about this work.

Sports awards

The Nottinghamshire Sports awards are an annual event organised by Sport Nottinghamshire and the County Council to celebrate sporting achievement.

The awards are open to public nominations and seek to recognise achievements at both a grassroots level and in professional sport across the county.

Nominations for 2015 opened in October 2015 and the awards will be held in February 2016 at Nottingham Conference Centre.

sports awards

Shortlist announced

See the shortlist for the Sports Awards finalists

Roll of Honour

Every year Nottinghamshire residents who have devoted their lives to Nottinghamshire sport are nominated for entry onto the prestigous Roll of Honour.




Team of the Year

Nottinghamshire T20 Ladies Beeston Hockey Club, Gedling Inn Football Club, Nottingham Handball Club, Nottingham Panthers

Club of the Year

Norwood Park Golf Centre Beeston Road Club, Mansfield Rugby Club, Rushcliffe Swimming Club, West Bridgford Rugby Club

Junior Sportsperson of the Year

Ellie Downie Anna Thornton, Henry Pak Fey Chiu, Olivia Whitelaw, Rosie Rudin

Junior Team of the Year

Nottinghamshire FA Girls Under 16s Ashfield RUFC U15's Girls, Beeston Hockey Club Indoor U18's Girls, NSSA Icicles

Sporting School of the Year

The Samworth Church Academy Bilborough 6th Form College, Nottingham Girls' High School, Nottingham High School, The Fernwood School

Volunteer of the Year

John Hope Bob Truswell, Jason Ramage, Paul Burns, Richard Weatherer

Junior Volunteer of the Year

Samuel Stringfellow Claudia Southwell, Jake Fisher, Lucy Palfreyman, Matthew Hall

Young Coach of the Year

Ashley Hewitt Benjamin Wilson, Daniel Edson, Rebecca Schinagl, Rosie Needham

Performance Coach of the Year

Claire Starkey Dez Atkins, Glenn Smith, Julian Leivars, Ricardo Vasconcelos

Community Coach of the Year

Ruth Pickthorn Bob Truswell and Pete Haskell, Charlotte Attwood, Ian Clews, Mark Moore

Disabled Sportsperson of the Year

Ollie Hynd MBE Grace Clough, Natalie Blake, Richard Whitehead, Sophie Wells

Sportsperson of the Year

Becky Downie Chris Adcock, Elise Christie, Isobel Pooley, Stephen Lisgo

Project of the Year

Active Ashfield Stop Bullying in Sport Mansfield Primary School Sport Partnership, Ping! Nottingham, Rushcliffe Junior Parkrun

Junior Disabled Sportsperson of the Year

Sophie Hahn Ben Foulston, Holly Lounds, Joseph Seage, Megan McFarlane

Achievement of the Year

Bill Furniss  


Share this page?

Contact the Council

Find and talk with us online or contact us directly by online form, email, telephone, post or in person at one of our offices.

Facebook.com/Nottinghamshire Twitter.com/NottsCC Use our online form Visit us in person Call us on 0300 500 80 80