[Skip to content]

Nottinghamshire County Council - Proud of our past, ambitious for our future

Highway Design Guide

6Cs Design Guide

On 1 April 2009 Nottinghamshire County Council adopted the 6Cs Design Guide. This document has replaced our previous Highway Design Guide (Jan 1999) and the General Specification for Roadworks (1989).

The 6Cs Design Guide sets out the general principles and minimum standards for the layout and dimensions of roads and paved areas in residential and industrial developments for which we are the Highway Authority and for which the Planning Authorities are:

  • Ashfield District Council
  • Bassetlaw District Council
  • Broxtowe Borough Council
  • Gedling Borough Council
  • Mansfield District Council
  • Newark and Sherwood District Council
  • Rushcliffe Borough Council.

It should not be seen as a rigid solution to all road layouts. The aim is to provide a broad framework within which a high standard of road safety and environmental quality can take place, to the benefit of all members of the community. The standards are not rigid. In some circumstances where it is would enhance the character of existing development – such as conservation areas – variation may be allowed provided that it is consistent with the general aims of the document.

View the 6Cs Design Guide document.

6Cs Design Guide

The guide has also been adopted by:

  • Leicestershire County Council

  • Leicester City Council

  • Derbyshire County Council

  • Derby City Council

  • Nottingham City Council have also expressed interest in adopting it.

View the 6Cs Design Guide document.

By using this site you are agreeing to our terms and conditions (including using cookies to collect anonymous usage statistics). If you do not agree you may either stop cookies in your browser settings or stop browsing the site. Find out more about how we use cookies.. Close