[Skip to content]

Nottinghamshire County Council - Proud of our past, ambitious for our future

County Council Elections

May 2013 Council election

County Council elections are held every four years. Councillors are elected to represent each division, ensuring that the Council is accountable to local people.

The Labour Party is currently in control of Nottinghamshire County Council with a majority of one seat. This means that the Labour Party has one more seat (County Councillor) than the total of the other parties.

The current composition of the County Council, last updated in May 2013, is:

  • Labour Party: 34 seats
  • Conservative Party: 21 seats
  • Liberal Democrats: 8 seats
  • Mansfield Independent Forum: 2 seats
  • Selston Area Independents: 1 seat
  • Independent: 1 seat


View information for voters including how to check if you are registered to vote as well as information on where to vote, postal voting and proxy voting.

Further information

Guidance for parties, candidates and agents is available from the Electoral Commission.

Resources for teachers, youth workers, and others interested in promoting the democratic process and engagement can be found at www.dopolitics.org.uk.

By using this site you are agreeing to our terms and conditions (including using cookies to collect anonymous usage statistics). If you do not agree you may either stop cookies in your browser settings or stop browsing the site. Find out more about how we use cookies.. Close