[Skip to content]

Nottinghamshire County Council - Proud of our past, ambitious for our future

Nottinghamshire Archives will temporarily close to the public from Saturday 18 October. During the closure you can still contact staff by email, phone or post to get some documents reproduced.

Nottinghamshire Archives Users Group


Telephone icon

If you can help us in preserving our local archival heritage and would like to discuss depositing or donating records to Nottinghamshire Archives contact:

Team Manager Archives and Local Studies
Nottinghamshire Archives and Southwell and Nottingham Diocesan Record Office
County House
Castle Meadow Road

tel: 0300 500 80 80 general enquiries
tel: 0115 958 1634 archive enquiries
tel: 0115 950 4524 administrative enquiries
fax: 0115 941 3997


The Nottinghamshire Archives Users Group (NAUG) acts as a consultative forum to discuss developments and concerns relating to Nottinghamshire Archives.  


Membership of the group consists of representatives of local and family history societies whose members regularly use the Archives service, together with a number of regular readers and members of the Archives staff.  The group meets twice a year, or more often if necessary, for the following main purposes:

  • to receive reports about recent developments and concerns in the Archives service and to discuss Customer Care issues
  • to discuss future directions of the service
  • to help raise the public profile of the service and to provide support for it with other bodies when necessary.

If you would like further information about the NAUG, or if you would like to bring issues to the attention of the group, please contact:

The Team Manager Archives and Local Studies, who acts as the Secretary of the Group; or the Chairman of the Group. 

University of Nottingham (Chairman)

Prof. J V Beckett, Department of History, University Park, Nottingham, NG7 2RD


Nottingham City Council

Christina Dyer/Natalie Sellears, Joint Head of City Libraries, Loxley House, Station Street, Nottingham, NG2 3NG

e-mail: christina.dyer@nottinghamcity.gov.uk, natalie.sellears@nottinghamcity.gov.uk

Nottingham Trent University

Prof. Martyn Bennett, 31 Cambridge Street, Loughborough, Leics, LE11 1NC


Diocese of Southwell

Ms Elisabeth Crouch, Clerk to the Registrar, Dunham House, 8 Westgate, Southwell, Notts, NG25 0JL


University of Nottingham, Department of Manuscripts and Special Collections

Dr Dorothy Johnston, Keeper of Manuscripts, King’s Meadow Campus, Lenton Lane, Nottingham, NG7 2NR


Local Studies Library

Ms Dorothy Ritchie, Local Studies, Nottingham Central Library, Angel Row, Nottingham, NG1 6HP

e-mail: dorothy.ritchie@nottinghamcity.gov.uk

Nottinghamshire Family History Society

Ms D Johnson, 33 Redhill Lodge Drive, Redhill, Nottingham, NG5 8JH


Nottinghamshire Local History Association

Mr Derek Walker, Cratley, Back Lane, Eakring, Newark, Notts, NG22 0DJ


Friends of Nottinghamshire Archives

Dr Richard Gaunt, The University of Nottingham, Department of History, University Park, Nottingham, NG7 2RD

e-mail: richard.gaunt@nottingham.ac.uk


Mr Peter Reddish

Mr Lance Wright, Apartment 3, South Muskham Prebend, Church Street, Southwell, Notts, NG25 0HQ


One vacancy

Nottinghamshire Archives Representatives

  • Mr Mark Dorrington, Team Manager Archives and Local Studies
  • Mr Christopher Weir, Principal Archivist (Public Services)
  • Miss Barbara Sharp, Principal Archivist (Archives Services)
  • An Archives Assistant.
By using this site you are agreeing to our terms and conditions (including using cookies to collect anonymous usage statistics). If you do not agree you may either stop cookies in your browser settings or stop browsing the site. Find out more about how we use cookies.. Close