[Skip to content]

Nottinghamshire County Council - Proud of our past, ambitious for our future

Nottinghamshire Sports Award 2013

Roll of Honour

Every year Nottinghamshire residents who have devoted their lives to Nottinghamshire sport are nominated for entry onto the prestigous Roll of Honour.

In 2013 the inductees were:

  • Keith Atkinson
  • Peter Burton
  • Alan Hunt

See the full Roll of Honour.

Team of the Year

Winner: Nottingham Panthers

Nominated: Beeston Hockey Club Men's First XI, Mansfield Town Football Club, Nottinghamshire Outlaws YB40 Team, West Indian Cavaliers CC

Club of the Year

Winner: Collingham Tennis Club

Nominated: Attenborough Cricket Club, Hucknall Netball Club, Nottingham Rowing Club, Nottinghamshire Sheriffs Goalball Club

Junior Sportsperson of the Year

Winner: Ellie Downie

Nominated: Danny Brewer - Taekwondo, Ellie Downie - Gymnastics, Owen Jordan - Fencing, Nico Leivers - Boxing, Jack Urquhart - Ice Sports

Junior Team of the Year

Winner: Rowan Law and Connor Gamble

Nominated: 4 A's Canoe Team, Brunts Academy Badminton Team, Icicles Synchronised Skating Team, Worksop College Boys Orienteering Team

Sporting School of the Year

Winner: Rushcliffe School

Nominated: Samworth Church Academy, Nottingham Emmanuel School, Nottingham Girls' High School, The Trinity Catholic School

Volunteer of the Year

Winner: Jane Dunbar

Nominated: Marcellus Baz - Boxing, Jo & Matt Halstead - Basketball, Charmian Heaton - Athletics, Graeme Waters - Cycling

Junior Volunteer of the Year

Winner: Alex Newton

Nominated: Will Ballard - Swimming, Jade Clarke - Multi Sports, Lucy Owens - Netball & Rowing, Beverly Stanforth - Weightlifting

Young Coach of the Year

Winner: Rio Henley

Nominated: Daniel Edson - Rugby, Ashley Hewitt - Rowing, Richard Younger - Hockey, Andrew Zawadzki - Swimming

Performance Coach of the Year

Winner: Tim Stevenson

Nominated: Dez Atkins - Rowing, Phil Beniston - Power Lifting, Corey Neilson - Ice Hockey, Glenn Smith - Swimming

Community Coach of the Year

Winner: Tom Hibberd

Nominated: Andrew Blinston - Taekwondo, John Mersh - Football, Hayley Saggers - Football, Michael Wain - Football

Disabled Sportsperson of the Year

Winner: Ollie Hynd MBE

Nominated: Charlotte Henshaw - Swimming, Crystal Lane - Cycling, Sophie Wells MBE - Equestrian, Richard Whitehead MBE - Athletics

Sportsperson of the Year

Winner: Elise Christie

Nominated: Chris Adcock - Badminton, Adam Dixon - Hockey, Becky Downie - Gymnastics, Jenny Gunn - Cricket

Project of the Year

Winner: Nottinghamshire Leadership Academy Network

Nominated: Ashes Legacy, Midland Games, Notts FA Secret Shopper, Volunteering in Sport

Junior Disabled Sportsperson of the Year

Winner: Meg McFarlane

Nominated: Emily Anthony - Swimming, Seamus Morrison - Athletics, Harry Poxon - Athletics, Joseph Seage - Swimming

Achievement of the Year

Winner: Beeston Hockey Club Men's First Team and West Indian Cavaliers Cricket Club

EmailMe Logo

With emailme you can receive regular updates about council services and events straight into your inbox.

How do you rate this page?

By using this site you are agreeing to our terms and conditions (including using cookies to collect anonymous usage statistics). If you do not agree you may either stop cookies in your browser settings or stop browsing the site. Find out more about how we use cookies.. Close