< Back to: Training

Countryside Leader Training

  • The Countryside Leader Scheme has several stages. Candidates need to:Have an interest in and experience of countryside walking
  • Register with the scheme (at St. Michael’s, see below) to obtain a logbook and syllabus
  • Gain and consolidate their experience, so that minimum requirements are met before assessment
  • Attend an assessment day, which results in a pass or deferral.

The course includes overnight accommodation. At the Centre on Sunday there is a self-prepared breakfast and packed lunch available.

In order that all candidates arrive at the assessment weekend fully prepared, this optional training course is offered at St Michael’s.

Course content:

  • Saturday includes a full day walk, looking amongst other things, at navigation techniques and group management
  • There will be sessions on logbooks, route planning and other parts of the syllabus raised by candidates
  • On Saturday evening there is a camp-craft session where candidates prepare their own meal out of doors with discussions on tent usage and organising a camp safely.
  • Sunday will be another day walk in the Peak District consolidating the skills developed on the first day.

Course dates

Event date Application closing date
Saturday 14 April to Sunday 15 April 2018 Monday 19 March 2018
Saturday 2 June and Sunday 3 June 2018 Tuesday 8 May 2018
Saturday 15 September to Sunday 16 September 2018 Tuesday 21 August 2018
Saturday 6 October to Sunday 7 October 2018 Monday 10 September 2018


View all training

Enquire or make a booking

Contact the Council

Find and talk with us online or contact us directly by online form, email, telephone, post or in person at one of our offices.

Facebook.com/Nottinghamshire Twitter.com/NottsCC Use our online form Visit us in person Call us on 0300 500 80 80