report



meeting COUNTY COUNCIL

date 19th May 2011 agenda item number

REPORT OF THE CHIEF EXECUTIVE

RECOGNITION OF MEMBERS AND OFFICERS OF GROUPS

Purpose of the Report

1. To report details of the membership of the political Groups, together with the names of officers appointed within the Groups.

Background

Members and Officers of Groups

- 2. At the annual meeting of the Council in May 2010 Members noted the composition of the political Groups as required by the Committees and Political Groups Regulations made under the Local Government and Housing Act 1989
- 3. There are currently 4 political Groups on the Council, which are:-
 - the Nottinghamshire County Council Conservative Group
 - the Nottinghamshire County Labour Group
 - the Liberal Democrats Group
 - the Independents Group

Since that time there has been a change to the membership of the Groups following a by-election. The current membership of the Groups is set out in the attached appendix.

4. At the same meeting, and in accordance with Standing Order 15.1, the Council recognised the Officers of the Groups, who are now:-

Conservative Group

Leader:

 Deputy Leader:
 Business Manager
 Group Secretary:
 Deputy Business Manager:
 School Governor Co-ordinator:

 Councillor Martin Suthers

 Councillor Carol Pepper
 Councillor L B Cooper
 Councillor Chris Barnfather
 Deputy Cabinet Member

(Youth Services)

Labour Group

Leader: Councillor Alan Rhodes
 Deputy Leader: Councillor Joyce Bosnjak
 Business Manager Councillor Steve Carroll

Liberal Democrat Group

Leader: Councillor Jason Zadrozny
 Deputy Leader: Councillor Ken Rigby
 Business Manager Councillor Steve Carr

Independent Group

Leader: Councillor June Stendall

RECOMMENDED

- 1. That the membership of the political Groups be noted.
- 2. That, in accordance with Standing Orders, the Officers of the Groups be recognised.

Statutory and Policy Implications

The information set out in the report has been received in accordance with the relevant legislation.

Financial Implications

The majority of the Officer posts within the groups attract the payment of Special Responsibility Allowances in accordance with the Council's Scheme. Those allowances become payable from the date on which notification was received.

Mick Burrows Chief Executive

Legal Services comments (SLB 06.05.2011)

The proposals in this report are within the remit of Council.

Background Papers Available for Inspection

Nil

APPENDIX

MEMBERS AND OFFICERS OF GROUPS

(A) Nottinghamshire County Council Conservative Group

35 Members

Philip Owen Reg Adair **Chris Barnfather** Carol Pepper

Thomas A J Pettengell Victor Bobo Mike Quigley MBE Richard Butler Mrs Wendy Quigley Allen Clarke Kevin Rostance **Ged Clarke** Mrs Sue Saddington L B Cooper John Cottee Mel Shepherd MBE Mark Spencer MP Michael J Cox Andy Stewart Mrs Kay Cutts

V H Dobson Martin Suthers OBE

Lynn Sykes Keith Girling John M Hempsall **David Taylor** Richard Jackson Keith Walker Rod Kempster Stuart Wallace Eric Kerry Gordon Wheeler

Bruce Laughton Liz Yates

Mick Murphy

Officers

Councillor Mrs Kay Cutts Leader: **Deputy Leader:** Councillor Martin Suthers **Business Manager:** Councillor Carol Pepper **Group Secretary:** Councillor L B Cooper **Deputy Business Manager:**

Councillor Chris Barnfather

School Governor Coordinator: Deputy Cabinet Member (Youth Services)

(B) Nottinghamshire County Council Labour Group

15 Members

John Allin **Kevin Greaves** Joyce Bosnjak John Knight Steve Carroll Sheila Place John Clarke Darrell Pulk Jim Creamer Alan Rhodes

Sybil Fielding S Smedley MBE JP Glynn Gilfoyle Parry Tsimbiridis

Chris Winterton

Officers

Leader:Alan RhodesDeputy Leader:Joyce BosnjakBusiness Manager:Steve Carroll

(C) Liberal Democrats Group

9 Members

Fiona Asbury
Steve Carr
Ken Rigby
Michelle Gent
Stan Heptinstall MBE
Keith Longdon
Rachel Madden
Ken Rigby
Brian Wombwell
Jason Zadrozny

Officers

Leader:Jason ZadroznyDeputy Leader:Ken RigbyBusiness Manager:Steve Carr

(D) Independents Group

8 Members

Bob CrossJune StendallStephen GarnerGail TurnerRev. Tom IrvineLes WardGeoff MerryMartin Wright

Officers

Leader: June Stendall