

# Report to Children and Young People's Committee

21 March 2016

Agenda Item: 11

## REPORT OF THE ACTING SERVICE DIRECTOR, EDUCATION STANDARDS AND INCLUSION

## LOCAL AUTHORITY GOVERNOR APPOINTMENTS AND REAPPOINTMENTS TO SCHOOL GOVERNING BODIES

## **Purpose of the Report**

- To note that all Nottinghamshire maintained school governing bodies have reconstituted to a skills-based model of governance and are now responsible for the appointment of Local Authority (LA) governors.
- 2. To note the appointment of Local Authority (LA) governors to school governing bodies for the period 1 June 2015 to 4 February 2016.
- 3. To seek clarification as to whether or not the Committee wishes to continue to receive quarterly reports on LA governor appointments made by school governing bodies.

#### Information and Advice

- 4. Under the School Governance (Constitution) (England) Regulations 2012, as amended by the School Governance (Constitution and Federations) (England) (Amendment) Regulations 2014, governing bodies of maintained schools were required to reconstitute to a skills-based model of governance by September 2015, and are allowed one LA governor on the reconstituted governing body. For this model of governance, governing bodies may set eligibility criteria for, and appoint, the Local Authority governor.
- 5. All Nottinghamshire school governing bodies have reconstituted under a skills model of governance. This means the Corporate Director for Children, Families and Cultural Services, who appointed Authority governors on behalf of the County Council, is no longer responsible for the appointment of LA governors as school governing bodies are the appointing bodies.
- 6. Under these Regulations the County Council is responsible for nominating individuals as prospective governors. Nominations are made by the County Council, in accordance with the eligibility criteria provided by the governing body, and are then considered by the School Governor Co-ordinators appointed by the governing body. When nominating new governors or re-nominating existing governors, the County Council must consider the skills and experience the governing body needs in order to be effective.

- 7. The nomination/re-nomination role is currently undertaken by Cllr Liz Plant and Cllr Kate Foale, on behalf of the County Council. It should be noted that the regulations allow a governing body to reject the governor nominated if they feel that person does not meet their eligibility criteria.
- 8. The Committees receive quarterly reports on LA governor appointments and this report includes appointments made by governing bodies during the period 1 June 2015 to 4 February 2016.

## Local Authority governor nominations and appointments to reconstituted governing bodies

9. Local Authority governors nominated by the County Council and appointed by school governing bodies during the period 1 June 2015 to 4 February 2016 are as follows:

ASHFIELD	
Beardall Fields Primary and Nursery	Mrs Lisa Hay
Fountaindale Special	Mrs Jennifer Petherbridge
Underwood CofE (VC) Primary	Mr Liam Russell
Westwood Infant and Nursery	Mr Robin Horton
BASSETLAW	
Beckingham Primary	Mrs Sarah Bowes
Everton Primary	Mr Anthony Stewart Hercock
North Wheatley CofE VC Primary	Mrs Maria Cocksedge
St Peters CofE VA Primary	Mr Alan Trevor Hickman
BROXOWE	
Bramcote CofE (VA) Primary	Councillor Timothy Paul Brindley
Brookhill Leys Primary and Nursery	Mr Martin Burton
Kimberley Primary	Mrs Elizabeth Louisa Marshall
Springbank Primary	Councillor Keith Longdon
Trowell Church of England Voluntary	Mrs Diane Mason
Controlled Primary	
Wadsworth Fields Primary	Mr Terence Dennis Kerry
GEDLING	
Arnold Mill Primary	Mrs Anne Georgiana Richards
Lambley Primary	Mr Lawrence Maurice Milbourn
Parkdale Primary	Mr Dennis Jones
Stanhope Primary	Mrs Dilys Vowles
MANSFIELD	
Berry Hill Primary and Nursery	Mr Ian Pearce
Farmilo Primary	Councillor Darren Langton
Forest Town Primary	Mrs Valerie Vasper
High Oakham Primary	Mrs Dianne Stendall
NEWARK	
All Saints Anglican Methodist Primary	Mrs Ali Cameron
Janto / inglican motification intraty	

Caunton Dean Hole CofE (VC) Primary	Mrs Jane Wood
Edwinstowe St Mary's CofE (VA)	Mr Ian Catchpole
John Hunt Primary and Nursery	Miss Susan Angood
Lake View Primary and Nursery	Mrs Rhona Hicks
Ollerton Forest View Junior	Mr Stephen David Powell
Ravenshead C of E Voluntary Controlled	Councillor Colin James Powell
The Kite Federation	Mrs Susan Margaret Sinclair
The Muskham Primary	Ms Anne Allsop
RUSHCLIFFE	
Bunny CofE Primary	Mrs Maria Webb
The Acorn Federation	Mrs Gill Lane
Willoughby Primary	Mrs Gretta Edley

#### **Other Options Considered**

10. Nottinghamshire County Council's strategy for recruiting and retaining school governors includes the re-appointment of existing governors. The County Council sees many advantages in retaining experienced governors and actively seeks to encourage governors approaching their end of term of office to stand again either in the same school or in a different school. The appointments made ensure the retention and supply of experienced governors.

## **Statutory and Policy Implications**

11. This report has been compiled after consideration of implications in respect of crime and disorder, finance, human resources, human rights, the NHS Constitution (Public Health only), the public sector equality duty, safeguarding of children and vulnerable adults, service users, sustainability and the environment and ways of working and where such implications are material they are described below. Appropriate consultation has been undertaken and advice sought on these issues as required.

#### **Public Sector Equality Duty Implications**

12. All existing Local Authority governors approaching the end of their term of office have had the opportunity to put themselves forward for re-nomination.

#### **RECOMMENDATION/S**

#### That the Committee:

- notes that all Nottinghamshire maintained school governing bodies have reconstituted to a skills-based model of governance and are now responsible for the appointment of Local Authority governors.
- 2) notes the appointment of Local Authority governors to school governing bodies during the period 1 June 2015 to 4 February 2016, as listed in paragraph 9.
- 3) agrees to continue to receive quarterly reports on Local Authority governor appointments made by school governing bodies.

#### **Marion Clay**

#### **Acting Service Director, Education Standards and Inclusion**

### For any enquiries about this report please contact:

Leonie Meikle

Team Manager, Governor Services

T: 07843 502867

E: leonie.meikle@nottscc.gov.uk

### **Constitutional Comments (SMG 17/02/16)**

13. The proposals set out in this report fall within the remit of this Committee.

#### Financial Comments (SS 17/02/16)

14. There are no financial implications arising directly from this report.

#### **Background Papers and Published Documents**

None.

#### Electoral Division(s) and Member(s) Affected

Hucknall Cllr Alice Grice and Cllr John Wilkinson

Sutton in Ashfield East

Selston

Cllr Steve Carroll

Cllr David Martin

Cllr Liz Yates

Tuxford

Cllr John Ogle

Bramcote and Stapleford Cllr Stan Heptinstall MBE and Cllr Jacky Williams

Eastwood Cllr Keith Longdon Kimberley and Trowell Cllr Ken Rigby

Arnold South Cllr Pauline Allan and Cllr Michael Payne

Calverton Cllr Boyd Elliott

Carlton West

Mansfield South

Mansfield West

Mansfield East

Cllr Darrell Pulk and Cllr Jim Creamer

Cllr Stephen Garner and Cllr Andy Sissons

Cllr Darren Langton and Cllr Diane Meale

Cllr Alan Bell and Cllr Colleen Harwood

Farndon & Muskham

Southwell and Caunton

Rufford

Balderton

Cllr Susan Saddington

Cllr Bruce Laughton

Cllr John Peck

Cllr Keith Walker

Blidworth Cllr Yvonne Woodhead

Ollerton Cllr Mike Pringle

Newstead Cllr Christopher Barnfather

Ruddington Cllr Reg Adair
Cotgrave Cllr Richard Butler
Keyworth Cllr John Cottee

C0791