# minutes



Meeting AUDIT COMMITTEE

Date 26 July 2011 (commencing at 10.00 am)

#### membership

Persons absent are marked with 'A'

### COUNCILLORS

Sheila Place (Chair)
Mike Quigley MBE (Vice-Chair)

Chris Barnfather Carol Pepper
Mrs Kay Cutts Darrell Pulk
A Steve Garner A Ken Rigby
Richard Jackson Jason Zadrozny
Eric Kerry

# **OFFICERS IN ATTENDANCE**

David Forster	-	Governance Officer
Rob Disney John Pearson Nigel Stevenson Andrew Howarth	) ) )	Environment and Resources Department

C = 1 = = = = Off; = = =

### **ALSO IN ATTENDANCE**

Mike Norman ) Audit Commission

# **APPOINTMENT OF CHAIR AND VICE-CHAIR**

It was noted that at full Council on 19 May 2011 Councillor Sheila Place was appointed Chair and Councillor Mike Quigley as Vice –Chair of the Audit Committee for the ensuing year.

# **MEMBERSHIP**

It was noted that Councillor Jason Zadrozny had been appointed to the committee in place of Councillor Stan Heptinstall MBE.

### **MINUTES**

The minutes of the last meeting of the Committee held on 17 May 2011, having been circulated, were confirmed and signed by the Chair.

# **APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE**

An apology for absence was received from Councillor Ken Rigby, who was on Borough Council business.

# **DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST BY MEMBERS AND OFFICERS**

No declarations of interests were made.

# **TREASURY MANAGEMENT ACTIVITY 2010/11**

Mr Pearson introduced the report and highlighted that the Government had imposed penalties additional to bank lending rates as part of a national cost saving measure, due to fears of a double dip in the economy.

### **RESOLVED 2011/038**

That the report be noted.

# **FINANCIAL REGULATIONS WAIVERS 2011/12**

Mr Disney introduced the report.

### **RESOLVED 2011/039**

That the report be noted and that future reports on Financial Regulations Waivers contain information on requests which are refused and the reason.

The meeting closed at 10.17 am.

### **CHAIR**