

11 May 2023

Agenda Item: 6

REPORT OF THE CHIEF EXECUTIVE

ADDENDUM - KIRKBY SOUTH BY-ELECTION AND RECOGNITION OF MEMBERS AND OFFICERS OF GROUPS

Purpose of the Report

1. To report on the outcome of the by-election in the Kirkby South Division on 4 May 2023 and to report details of the membership of the political Groups, together with the names of officers appointed within the Groups. This addendum replaces the report published with the agenda.

Information

- 2. I am able to report that at the by-election in the Kirkby South Division held on 4 May 2023 Rachel Madden was elected County Councillor for that Division.
- The Constitution requires the membership of political Groups of the Council and their Leader, Deputy Leader and Business Manager (officers of the Groups) to be noted at the Annual Meeting.
- 4. There are currently three political Groups on the Council, which are:-
 - the Nottinghamshire County Council Conservative Group
 - the Nottinghamshire County Council Labour Group
 - the Independent Alliance Group
- 5. In addition to the three Groups detailed in this report, there is one non-aligned County Councillor who is not part of any political Group of the Council. This is Councillor Stephen Garner.
- 6. Appropriate notice has been received to confirm that Councillor Rachel Madden is a member of the Independent Alliance Group on the Council. The membership of each Group is set out in Appendix A along with the officers of each Group (Leader, Deputy Leader and Business Manager). This means that the overall political balance of the Council remains as follows:-

	<u>Number</u>	<u>%</u>
Conservative Group	35	53.03
Labour Group	15	22.73
Independent Alliance Group	15	22.73
Councillor Stephen Garner (Independent)	1	1.52

7. There is a statutory requirement for seats on Committees and Sub-Committees to be allocated to the political groups in a way which reflects the overall balance of the Council. Details of these are dealt with elsewhere in the agenda.

Other Options Considered

8. None, it is a requirement of the Constitution to report annually to Full Council.

Reason/s for Recommendation/s

9. It is necessary for Council to note the political Groups on the Council and their Officers.

Statutory and Policy Implications

10. This report has been compiled after consideration of implications in respect of crime and disorder, data protection and information governance, finance, human resources, human rights, the NHS Constitution (public health services), the public sector equality duty, safeguarding of children and adults at risk, service users, smarter working, sustainability and the environment and where such implications are material they are described below. Appropriate consultation has been undertaken and advice sought on these issues as required.

Financial Implications

11. As the political balance of the Council remains the same, the recommendations of the Independent Remuneration Panel from November 2022 stand and therefore there are no financial implications arising directly from this report.

RECOMMENDATIONS

- 1) That the outcome of the by-election held in Kirkby South be noted.
- 2) That the membership of the political Groups be recognised.
- 3) That the Officers of the Groups be noted.

Adrian Smith Chief Executive

For any enquiries about this report please contact:

Sara Allmond, Advanced Democratic Services Officer Tel: 0115 9773794 Email: sara.allmond@nottscc.gov.uk

Constitutional Comments (HD 5/5/2023)

12. The matters within the report fall within the remit of Full Council.

Financial Comments (KRP 05/05/2023)

13. As noted in the report there are no financial implications arising from the recommendations.

Background Papers and Published Documents

Except for previously published documents, which will be available elsewhere, the documents listed here will be available for inspection in accordance with Section 100D of the Local Government Act 1972.

None

Electoral Division(s) and Member(s) Affected

All

<u>APPENDIX</u>

MEMBERS AND OFFICERS OF GROUPS

(A) Nottinghamshire County Council Conservative Group

35 Members

Richard Jackson Reg Adair Mike Adams Roger Jackson Sinead Anderson Eric Kerry Callum Bailev Bruce Laughton Matt Barney Johno Lee Nigel Moxon Chris Barnfather Ben Bradlev MP John Ogle Philip Owen Richard Butler

André Camilleri Mike Quigley MBE Scott Carlton Mrs Sue Saddington

Neil Clarke MBE
Robert Corden
John Cottee
Tracey Taylor
Nigel Turner
Bethan Eddy
Royd Elliott
Keith Girling
Gradon Wheeler
Jonathan Wheeler

Mike Introna

Officers

Leader:Ben Bradley MPDeputy Leader:Bruce LaughtonBusiness Manager:Chris Barnfather

(B) Nottinghamshire County Council Labour Group

15 Members

Pauline Allan Errol Henry JP
Anne Callaghan Paul Henshaw
John Clarke MBE Maggie McGrath
Jim Creamer Michael Payne
Sybil Fielding Sheila Place
Kate Foale Mike Pringle
Glynn Gilfoyle Michelle Welsh

Penny Gowland

Officers

Leader:Kate FoaleDeputy Leader:Mike PringleBusiness Manager:Errol Henry JP

(C) Independent Alliance

15 Members

Steve Carr Francis Purdue-Horan

Debbie Darby
Samantha Deakin
Tom Hollis
Dave Shaw
Helen-Ann Smith
Lee Waters

Rachel Madden Elizabeth Williamson

David Martin John Wilmott
Andy Meakin Jason Zadrozny

Officers

Kane Oliver

Leader:Jason ZadroznyDeputy Leader:Helen-Ann SmithBusiness Manager:Samantha Deakin

(D) Other Members

Councillor Stephen Garner (Independent)