NOTTINGHAMSHIRE POLICE AND CRIME PANEL 1 JUNE 2020

REVIEW OF MEMBERSHIP – BALANCED APPOINTMENT OBJECTIVE

Purpose of the Report

1. To consider the Panel's membership and any changes required to meet the balanced appointment objective as required by legislation.

Information and Advice

2. The Panel needs to review its membership at its Annual Meeting in June (or following elections which may have affected the Panel's political balance).

Elected members and proportional representation

- 3. The Police and Social Responsibility Act 2011 stipulates that Police and Crime Panels must represent all parts of the relevant area, be as politically balanced as possible and have a membership that has the necessary skills, knowledge and experience.
- 4. There have been no Council elections held in the Panel's area this year and no changes in membership have been notified (up to 4 May 2020). It is proposed therefore that no changes are required to the political membership for this municipal year. For information, the current Council nominated Members remain as follows:-

Council	Name of Member	Political Party
Ashfield District Council	Councillor Jason Zadrozny named substitute – Councillor Daniel Williamson	Ashfield Independents
Bassetlaw District Council	Councillor Tony Eaton named substitute - Councillor Kevin Greaves	Labour
Broxtowe Borough Council	Councillor Richard MacRae	Independent
Gedling Borough Council	Councillor David Ellis	Labour
Mansfield District Council	Executive Mayor Andy Abrahams	Labour
Newark & Sherwood District Council	Councillor Scott Carlton	Conservative
Nottingham City Council	Councillor Linda Woodings Councillor Leslie Ayoola named substitute – Councillor Michael Edwards	Labour Labour
Nottinghamshire County Council	Councillor Francis Purdue Horan	Conservative
Rushcliffe Borough Council	Councillor Rob Inglis	Conservative

- 5. Following the recruitment process undertaken in January 2019, three of the existing four Independent Co-opted Members (Christine Goldstraw, Suma Harding and Bob Vaughan-Newton) were reappointed and one new Independent Co-opted Member (Lesley Dalby) was appointed. The terms of office for each of these Members runs from 3 June 2019 to 31 May 2021.
- 6. At this point therefore no further changes are required to the Independent Coopted membership. A report will be presented to a future meeting of the Panel to begin the process for considering any reappointments / recruitment as necessary.

Other Options Considered

7. None

Reason/s for Recommendation/s

8. To enable the Panel to review its membership so that the balanced appointment objective can be most appropriately met.

RECOMMENDATIONS

1) That the membership of the Panel be noted.

Background Papers and Published Documents

- 1) Police Reform and Social Responsibility Act 2011 (published)
- 2) Nottinghamshire Police and Crime Panel's Panel Arrangements (published)

For any enquiries about this report please contact:

Keith Ford, Team Manager, Democratic Services, Nottinghamshire County Council Tel: 0115 9772590 E-mail: <u>keith.ford@nottscc.gov.uk</u>