Nottinghamshire County Council

Meeting COUNTY COUNCIL

Date Thursday, 23rd March 2017 (10.30 am – 12.25 pm)

Membership

Α

Α

Α

Α

Tom Hollis

Richard Jackson

Roger Jackson

Persons absent are marked with 'A'

COUNCILLORS

Yvonne Woodhead (Chairman) Mike Pringle (Vice-Chairman)

Reg Adair David Kirkham Pauline Allan John Knight Rov Allan **Darren Langton** John Allin **Bruce Laughton** Chris Barnfather Keith Longdon Α Rachel Madden Alan Bell Α Joyce Bosnjak Α **David Martin** Nicki Brooks Diana Meale **Andrew Brown** John Ogle Richard Butler Philip Owen Michael Payne Steve Calvert Ian Campbell John Peck JP Steve Carr Sheila Place Steve Carroll Liz Plant John Clarke Darrell Pulk Francis Purdue-Horan John Cottee Alan Rhodes Jim Creamer Mrs Kay Cutts MBE Ken Rigby Maureen Dobson Tony Roberts MBE Mrs Sue Saddington Dr John Doddy **Andy Sissons Boyd Elliott** Sybil Fielding Pam Skelding Kate Foale Parry Tsimbiridis Stephen Garner Keith Walker Glynn Gilfoyle Stuart Wallace **Kevin Greaves** Muriel Weisz Alice Grice Gordon Wheeler John Handley John Wilkinson Colleen Harwood Jacky Williams Stan Heptinstall MBE John Wilmott

Liz Yates

Α

Jason Zadrozny

HONORARY ALDERMEN

Terence Butler John Carter

OFFICERS IN ATTENDANCE

Anthony May (Chief Executive)
Jayne Francis-Ward (Resources)

David Pearson (Adult Social Care & Health)

Colin Pettigrew (Children, Families and Cultural Service)

Adrian Smith (Place)

(Public Health) Barbara Brady Sara Allmond (Resources) Carl Bilbey (Resources) Martin Done (Resources) Catherine Munro (Resources) Anna O'Daly-Kardasinska (Resources) Nigel Stevenson (Resources) (Resources) Marjorie Toward Michelle Welsh (Resources)

OPENING PRAYER

Upon the Council convening, prayers were led by the Chairman's Chaplain.

MINUTE SILENCE

A minute silence was held in memory of the victims of the attack on Westminster Bridge and the Houses of Parliament on 22nd March 2017.

1. MINUTES

RESOLVED: 2017/011

That the minutes of the last meeting of the County Council held on 23rd February 2017 be agreed as a true record and signed by the Chairman.

2. APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

Apologies for absence were received from:-

Councillor Ian Campbell (medical/illness)

Councillor Steve Carr (other reasons)

Councillor Stephen Garner (other reasons)

Councillor Tom Hollis (other reasons)

Councillor Keith Longdon (other reasons)

Councillor Rachel Madden (other reasons)

Councillor David Martin (other reasons)

Councillor Jason Zadrozny (other reasons)

3. DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

None

4. CHAIRMAN'S BUSINESS

PRESENTATION OF AWARDS

None

STATEMENT FROM THE LEADER OF THE COUNCIL

The Leader of the Council addressed the Council regarding the attacks that had taken place the previous day on Westminster Bridge and the Houses of Parliament.

STATEMENT FROM THE CHIEF EXECUTIVE

The Chief Executive made a statement regarding an allegation made at the previous meeting.

5. CONSTITUENCY ISSUES

The following Members spoke for up to three minutes on issues which specifically related to their division and were relevant to the services provided by the County Council.

Councillor Roger Jackson – problems at Lowdham roundabout and parking issues around Lowdham railway station.

Councillor Michael Payne – regarding schools funding in Arnold North.

Councillor Bruce Laughton – regarding funding for Busy Bees pre-school in Sutton on Trent

6. PRESENTATION OF PETITIONS

The following petitions were presented to the Chairman as indicated below:-

- (1) Councillor Tony Roberts MBE requesting a residents' parking scheme on Lovers Lane and Meyrick Road, Newark
- (2) Councillor Maureen Dobson requesting a residents parking scheme for Newstead Street, Newark
- (3) Councillor John Handley regarding residents' parking in Newthorpe

- (4) Councillor Darren Langton regarding a road resurfacing request from residents of Bagshaw Street, Pleasley, West Mansfield
- (5) Councillor Jim Creamer requesting the adoption of a footpath between Blackhill Drive and Burton Road, Carlton West
- (6) Councillor Stan Heptinstall MBE regarding traffic restrictions on Ilkeston Road/Melbourne Road, Stapleford
- (7) Councillor John Wilmott requesting a residents parking scheme for Magdalene Way, Hucknall
- (8) Councillor Richard Butler requesting a pedestrian crossing on Bingham Road, Cotgrave
- (9) Councillor Gordon Wheeler requesting double yellow lines at the junction of Northwold Avenue and Loughborough Road, West Bridgford
- (10) Councillor Glynn Gilfoyle requesting that Bassetlaw Hospital Children's Ward remain open

RESOLVED: 2017/012

That the petitions be referred to the appropriate Committees for consideration in accordance with the Procedure Rules, with a report being brought back to Council in due course.

7. CLARIFICATION OF MINUTES

The report provided Members with the opportunity to raise matters of clarification in the minutes of committee meetings published since the last meeting.

8. NOTTINGHAMSHIRE COUNTY COUNCIL'S PAY POLICY STATEMENT 2017-2018

Councillor Alan Rhodes introduced the report and moved a motion in terms of resolution 2017/013 below.

The motion was seconded by Councillor Joyce Bosnjak.

RESOLVED: 2017/013

That the Pay Policy Statement 2017-2018 be approved for publication on the Council's website by 1st April 2017

9. QUESTIONS

(a) QUESTIONS TO NOTTINGHAMSHIRE AND CITY OF NOTTINGHAM FIRE AUTHORITY

One question has been received as follows:-

 from Councillor Maureen Dobson regarding collaboration between the Fire Service and the East Midlands Ambulance Service (Councillor Darren Pulk replied)

The full response to this question is set out in Appendix A to these minutes

(b) QUESTIONS TO COMMITTEE CHAIRMAN

Three questions had been received as follows:-

- 1) from Councillor Jacky Williams concerning pothole repairs (Councillor Kevin Greaves replied)
- 2) from Councillor Michael Payne regarding the school funding formula (Councillor John Peck JP replied)
- 3) from Councillor Darrell Pulk about the work of the administration of the last four years (Councillor Alan Rhodes replied)

The full responses to these questions are set out in set out in Appendix B to these minutes.

10. ADJOURNMENT DEBATE

None

The Chairman declared the meeting closed at 12.25 pm.

CHAIRMAN