

Report to Children and Young People's Committee

16 September 2019

Agenda Item: 16

REPORT OF THE SERVICE DIRECTOR, EDUCATION, LEARNING AND SKILLS

LOCAL AUTHORITY GOVERNOR APPOINTMENTS TO SCHOOL GOVERNING BODIES DURING THE PERIOD 12 FEBRUARY TO 16 AUGUST 2019

Purpose of the Report

1. To update the Committee on the appointment of Local Authority (LA) governors to school governing bodies for the period 12 February to 16 August 2019 in accordance with the requirements of the Constitution.

Information

- 2. Under the School Governance (Constitution) (England) Regulations 2012, as amended by the School Governance (Constitution and Federations) (England) Amendment Regulations 2014, governing bodies of maintained schools were required to reconstitute to a skills-based model of governance by September 2015, and are allowed one LA governor on the reconstituted governing body. For this model of governance, governing bodies may set eligibility criteria for, and appoint, the Local Authority governor.
- 3. Under these Regulations the County Council is responsible for nominating individuals as prospective governors. Nominations are made by the County Council, in accordance with the eligibility criteria provided by the governing body. When nominating new governors or re-nominating existing governors, the County Council must consider the skills and experience the governing body needs in order to be effective.
- 4. Local Authority governors nominated by the County Council and appointed by school governing bodies during the period 12 February to 16 August 2019 are as follows:

ASHFIELD	
Priestsic Primary and Nursery	Miss Liz Kitts New appointment to the category of LA governor

Fountaindale Special	Mrs Jenny Petherbridge Existing LA governor. Reappointed to the category of LA on the same governing body for her new term of office to start with effect from 22.09.19 Subsequently resigned as an LA Governor on 28.06.19 (before her new term of office had started) and appointed as co-opted governor by the governing body from 02.07.19. Ms Deborah White
Fountaindale School	Appointed as an Additional LA Governor to this governing body
Fountaindale School	Mr Rob Collins Appointed as an Additional LA Governor to this governing body
Holly Hill Primary and Nursery School	Mr Michael Scott Change of governor type from co-opted governor on the same governing body
St Mary Magdalene C of E Primary School	Mr Mark Stone New appointment to the category of LA governor
Beardall Fields Primary and Nursery	Mrs Lisa Hay Existing governor. Reappointed to the category of LA on the same governing body
Underwood C of E Primary	Mr Liam Russell Existing governor. Reappointed to the category of LA on the same governing body
BASSETLAW	
Walkeringham Primary	Mrs Mary Spencer New appointment to the category of LA governor
The Primary School of St Mary and St Martin, Blyth	Mr Stephen Petherbridge New appointment to the category of LA governor
St Anne's C of E Primary	Mr Matthew Smith Existing governor. Reappointed to the category of LA on the same governing body
Haggonfields Primary	Mr Philip Gawthorpe Appointed as an Additional LA Governor to this governing body
Beckingham Primary	Mrs Sarah Bowes Existing governor. Reappointed to the category of LA on the same governing body

BROXTOWE	
Wadsworth Fields Primary	Mr Terence Kerry Existing governor. Reappointed to the category of LA on the same governing body
Albany Infant and Nursery School	Miss Gemma Marshall Change of governor type from co-opted governor on the same governing body
Albany Junior School	Mrs Amy Castle New appointment to the category of LA governor
GEDLING	
Westdale Infant	Mr John Smith New appointment to the category of LA governor
Colwick St John's the Baptist C of E Primary	Councillor Meredith Lawrence New appointment to the category of LA governor
Pinewood Infant	Miss Sarah Green New appointment to the category of LA governor
Carlton Standhill Infant	Mr Terence Morley New appointment to the category of LA governor
Newstead Primary and Nursery	Mrs Patricia Wise Existing governor. Reappointed to the category of LA on the same governing body
MANSFIELD	
King Edward Primary	Mrs Judith Munro New appointment to the category of LA governor
John T Rice Infant and Nursery	Miss Ruth Palmer New appointment to the category of LA governor
Farmilo Primary	Mrs Kath Wells New appointment to the category of LA governor
Samworth Church Academy	Councillor Stephen Garner Existing governor. Reappointed to the category of LA on the same governing body. Approved by the Trust.
NEWARK	
The Muskham Primary School	Mrs Anne Allsop Existing governor. Reappointed to the category of LA on the same governing body

Halam C of E Primary	Mr Andrew Paris
	Existing governor. Reappointed to the
	category of LA on the same governing body

Other Options Considered

5. No other options have been considered.

Reasons for Recommendation/s

6. The constitution requires the Corporate Directorate to report governor appointments to Committee on a quarterly basis.

Statutory and Policy Implications

7. This report has been compiled after consideration of implications in respect of crime and disorder, data protection and information governance, finance, human resources, human rights, the NHS Constitution (public health services), the public sector equality duty, safeguarding of children and adults at risk, service users, smarter working, sustainability and the environment and where such implications are material they are described below. Appropriate consultation has been undertaken and advice sought on these issues as required.

Data Protection and Information Governance

8. The information contained within this report is already within the public domain and a privacy impact statement is therefore not needed.

RECOMMENDATION/S

1) That the Committee receives further updates regarding future appointments on a quarterly basis in accordance with the Constitution.

Marion Clay Service Director, Education, Learning & Skills

For any enquiries about this report please contact:

Jane Mansell (until 30 September 2019)

Team Manager

T: 0115 8040628/07860 597832 E: jane.mansell@nottscc.gov.uk

Sarah Sayer (from 1 October 2019)

Team Manager

T: 0115 9773231/07901 105437 E: sarah.sayer@nottscc.gov.uk

Constitutional Comments (KK 02/09/19)

9. The proposal in this report is within the remit of the Children and Young People's Committee.

Financial Comments (SAS 29/08/19)

10. There are no financial implications arising directly from this report.

Background Papers and Published Documents

Except for previously published documents, which will be available elsewhere, the documents listed here will be available for inspection in accordance with Section 100D of the Local Government Act 1972.

None.

Electoral Divisions and Members Affected

Ashfield

Sutton Central and East
Hucknall North
Sutton West
Selston
Cllr Samantha Deakin
Cllr Ben Bradley
Cllr Tom Hollis
Cllr David Martin

Bassetlaw

Worksop South

Worksop West

Blyth and Harworth

Misterton

Cllr Kevin Greaves

Cllr Sybil Fielding

Cllr Sheila Place

Cllr Tracey Taylor

Broxtowe

Stapleford and Broxtowe Central Cllr John Doddy/Cllr John Longdon

Gedling

Arnold South

Cllr John Clark/Cllr Muriel Weisz

Arnold North

Cllr Pauline Allan/Cllr Michael Payne

Carlton East Cllr Nicki Brooks

Carlton West Cllr Jim Creamer/Cllr Errol Henry

Newstead Cllr Chris Barnfather

Mansfield

Mansfield South

Mansfield East

Mansfield West

Cllr Stephen Garner/Cllr Andy Sissons

Cllr Vaughan Hopewell/Cllr Martin Wright

Cllr Paul Henshaw/Cllr Diana Meale

Newark

Muskham and Farnsfield Cllr Bruce Laughton

C1270