

Meeting Environment and Sustainability Committee

Date Monday 4 January 2016 (commencing at 10:30 am)

#### Membership

Persons absent are marked with an 'A'

## **COUNCILLORS**

Jim Creamer (Chairman)
Pamela Skelding (Vice-Chairman)

Richard Butler Bruce Laughton
Steve Calvert Parry Tsimbiridis
Stan Heptinstall MBE John Wilkinson
Roger Jackson

## **Ex-Officio (non-voting)**

A Alan Rhodes

### **OTHER MEMBERS IN ATTENDANCE**

Mrs Kay Cutts MBE Mrs Maureen Dobson Mrs Sue Saddington

## **OFFICERS IN ATTENDANCE**

Sue Bearman - Resources Department
Lisa Bell - Place Department
Rachel Clack - Resources Department
Sally Gill - Place Department
Neil Hodgson - Place Department
Steve Osborne-James Place Department

David Pearson - ASCH&PP

David Pick - Place Department
Jan Witko - Place Department

Martin Gately - Resources Department

## **MINUTES OF THE LAST MEETING**

The minutes of the meeting held on 19 November 2015, having been circulated to all Members, were agreed to be a correct record and signed by the Chairman.

### **APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE**

None.

## **DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST**

None.

# <u>PETITION RECEIVED OBJECTING TO THE INCLUSION OF FLASH FARM AVERHAM IN THE NOTTINGHAMSHIRE MINERALS LOCAL PLAN</u>

A recommendation in terms of Resolution 2016/001 below was moved and seconded, and was carried after a show of hands.

The requisite number of Members requested a recorded vote and it was ascertained that the following six Members voted for the motion:-

Steve Calvert Pamela Skelding
Jim Creamer Parry Tsimbiridis
Stan Heptinstall John Wilkinson

The following three Members voted against the motion:-

Richard Butler Roger Jackson Bruce Laughton

The Chairman declared that the motion was carried and it was:-

### **RESOLVED 2016/001**

That the proposed response (detailed at paragraph 12) be sent to the petition organiser.

### MINERALS LOCAL PLAN

A recommendations in terms of Resolution 2016/002 (a) and (b) below was moved by Councillor Creamer and seconded by Councillor Skelding.

The following amendment to the recommendations was proposed by Councillor Laughton and seconded by Councillor Jackson:

a) Committee notes the summary of the main issues raised during the three Preferred Approach consultation stages and how these have been addressed;

- b) Committee removes the proposed new greenfield quarry sites MP2p Flash Farm and MP2r Shelford from the Minerals Local Plan Submission Draft document:
- c) Instructs officers to amend the document to show forecasts of the level of aggregate demand using the latest available figures, to ensure that the calculations are robust and not at risk of being found to be unsound by the Planning Inspector;
- d) Instructs officers to conduct a new traffic count on the A617 and A6097 during normal working days (i.e. outside Bank Holidays, school holidays and weekends);
- e) With these amendments, Committee endorses the Minerals Local Plan Submission Draft document and recommends that Full Council resolve to publish it for formal consultation.

The meeting then adjourned for the Chair to receive legal advice.

When the meeting reconvened, Ms Bearman indicated that the amendment was invalid because it represented a fundamental change to the original proposal.

The following amendment was proposed by Councillor Calvert and seconded by Councillor Skelding:

At paragraph 4.115 of the Minerals Local Plan (page 74) insert "in planning policy terms" after "no justifiable reason" so that the first sentence will read:

It is considered that there is no justifiable reason in planning policy terms to separate shale gas from other hydrocarbon development.

The amendment was agreed.

The committee heard from the following local Members regarding the Minerals Local Plan: Councillor Mrs Sue Saddington, Councillor Mrs Maureen Dobson and Councillor Mrs Kay Cutts MBE.

Councillor Mrs Saddington decided to speak because she was advised that she was able to, and to speak again at Planning & Licensing Committee when there is a planning application relating to Averham. Councillor Saddington indicated that she was speaking on behalf of residents who do not want a quarry in Averham and oppose additional HGVs going through Kelham and over Kelham Bridge.

The amended motion was put to the meeting and carried with a show of hands.

The requisite number of Members requested a recorded vote and it was ascertained that the following five Members voted for the motion:-

Steve Calvert

Pamela Skelding

Jim Creamer John Wilkinson Parry Tsimbirdis

The following three Members voted against the motion:-

Richard Butler Bruce Laughton Roger Jackson

Abstained:

Stan Heptinstall

### **RESOLVED 2016/002**

- a) That the summary of the main issues raised during the three Preferred Approach consultation stages and how these have been addressed be noted.
- b) That the Minerals Local Plan Submission Draft document be endorsed with the recommendation that Full Council resolve to publish it for formal consultation.

## **WORK PROGRAMME**

## **RESOLVED 2016/003**

That the work programme be noted.

The meeting concluded at 2:45 pm

### Chairman