

Nottinghamshire County Council

Meeting COUNTY COUNCIL

Date

А

Thursday, 28 February 2019 (10.30 am – 6.02 pm)

Membership

Persons absent are marked with 'A'

COUNCILLORS

Mrs Sue Saddington (Chairman) Kevin Rostance (Vice-Chairman)

Reg Adair Pauline Allan Chris Barnfather Joyce Bosnjak **Ben Bradley** Nicki Brooks Andrew Brown **Richard Butler** Steve Carr John Clarke **Neil Clarke MBE** John Cottee Jim Creamer Mrs Kay Cutts MBE Samantha Deakin Maureen Dobson Dr John Doddy **Boyd Elliott** Svbil Fieldina Kate Foale Stephen Garner Glynn Gilfoyle Keith Girling **Kevin Greaves** John Handley **Tony Harper** Errol Henry JP Paul Henshaw Tom Hollis Vaughan Hopewell **Richard Jackson** Roger Jackson

Eric Kerry John Knight **Bruce Laughton** John Longdon Rachel Madden **David Martin Diana Meale** John Ogle Philip Owen Michael Payne John Peck JP Sheila Place Liz Plant **Mike Pringle** Francis Purdue-Horan Mike Quigley MBE Alan Rhodes Phil Rostance Andy Sissons Helen-Ann Smith Tracey Taylor Parry Tsimbiridis **Steve Vickers** Keith Walker Stuart Wallace **Muriel Weisz** Andy Wetton Gordon Wheeler Jonathan Wheeler Yvonne Woodhead Martin Wright Jason Zadrozny

HONORARY ALDERMEN

Terence Butler John Carter

OFFICERS IN ATTENDANCE

Anthony May	(Chief Executive)
Melanie Brooks	(Adult Social Care and Health)
Jonathan Gribbin	(Adult Social Care and Health)
Sara Allmond	(Chief Executives)
Carl Bilbey	(Chief Executives)
Angie Dilley	(Chief Executives)
Martin Gately	(Chief Executives)
David Hennigan	(Chief Executives)
Anna O'Daly-Kardasinska	(Chief Executives)
Keith Palframan	(Chief Executives)
Marjorie Toward	(Chief Executives)
Rob Shirley	(Chief Executives)
Nigel Stevenson	(Chief Executives)
James Ward	(Chief Executives)
Colin Pettigrew	(Children, Families and Cultural Service)
Adrian Smith	(Place)

OPENING PRAYER

Upon the Council convening, prayers were led by the Venerable Robin Turner CB DL.

1. MINUTES

RESOLVED: 2019/001

That the minutes of the last meeting of the County Council held on 13 December 2018 be agreed as a true record and signed by the Chairman, with an amendment to page 8 as Councillor David Martin seconded the motion, not Councillor Tom Hollis and an amendment to page 10 as the adjournment debated related to question five not question six.

2. APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

Councillors Ben Bradley, Roger Jackson and Parry Tsimbiridis submitted apologies that they would be arriving late to the meeting.

3. DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

None

4. CHAIRMAN'S BUSINESS

None

5. ANNUAL BUDGET 2019/20 ADULT SOCIAL CARE PRECEPT 2019/20 COUNCIL TAX PRECEPT 2019/20 MEDIUM TERM FINANCIAL STRATEGY 2019/20 TO 2022/23 CAPITAL PROGRAMME 2019/20 TO 2022/23 CAPITAL STRATEGY 2019/20

Councillor Richard Jackson introduced the report and moved a motion in terms of resolution 2019/002 below, which was duly seconded by Councillors Mrs Kay Cutts MBE and Reg Adair.

Councillor Parry Tsimbiridis arrived at the meeting at 12.07pm.

The meeting adjourned from 12.28 pm to 1.33pm for lunch and from 2.58 pm to 3.30 pm.

Councillor Ben Bradley arrived at the meeting after lunch at 1.33pm.

Following the debate, the motion was put to the meeting and after a show of hands the Chairman declared that it was won.

In line with legal requirements, a recorded vote was taken and it was ascertained that the following 34 Members voted **'For'** the motion:-

Reg Adair Chris Barnfather Ben Bradley Andrew Brown Richard Butler Neil Clarke MBE John Cottee Mrs Kay Cutts MBE Dr John Doddy Boyd Elliott Stephen Garner Keith Girling John Handley Tony Harper Vaughan Hopewell Pichard Jackson	Bruce Laughton John Longdon John Ogle Philip Owen Francis Purdue-Horan Mike Quigley MBE Kevin Rostance Phil Rostance Mrs Sue Saddington Andy Sissons Tracey Taylor Steve Vickers Keith Walker Stuart Wallace Gordon Wheeler
Vaughan Hopewell Richard Jackson	Gordon Wheeler Jonathan Wheeler
Eric Kerry	Martin Wright

The following 30 Members voted 'Against' the motion:-

Pauline Allan

Rachel Madden

Joyce Bosnjak	David Martin
Nicki Brooks	Diana Meale
Steve Carr	Michael Payne
John Clarke	John Peck
Jim Creamer	Sheila Place
Samantha Deakin	Liz Plant
Sybil Fielding	Mike Pringle
Kate Foale	Alan Rhodes
Glynn Gilfoyle	Helen-Ann Smith
Kevin Greaves	Parry Tsimbiridis
Errol Henry	Muriel Weisz
Paul Henshaw	Andy Wetton
Tom Hollis	Yvonne Woodhead
John Knight	Jason Zadrozny

The following Member abstained from the vote:-

Maureen Dobson

The Chairman declared the motion was carried and it was:-

RESOLVED: 2019/002

- 1) That the Annual Revenue Budget for Nottinghamshire County Council be set at £487.428 million for 2019/20 as set out in paragraph 9 of the report.
- 2) That the principles underlying the Medium Term Financial Strategy be approved as set out in table 9 in the report.
- 3) That the Finance and Major Contracts Management Committee be authorised to make allocations from the General Contingency for 2019/20 as set out in paragraph 11 of the report.
- 4) That the 1.00% Adult Social Care Precept be levied in 2019/20 to part fund increasing adult social care costs as set out in paragraph 19 of the report.
- 5) That the Council element of the Council Tax be increased by 2.99% in 2019/20. That the overall Band D tax rate be set at £1,476.06 with the various other bands of property as set out in paragraphs 20 and 21 of the report.
- 6) That the County Precept for the year ending 31 March 2020 shall be £369,294,877 and shall be applicable to the whole of the District Council areas as General Expenses as set out in paragraph 23 of the report.
- 7) That the County Precept for 2019/20 shall be collected from the District and Borough councils in the proportions set out in table 7 of the report with the payment of equal instalments on the dates set out in table 8 of the report.

8) That the Capital Programme for 2019/20 to 2022/23 be approved at the total amounts below and be financed as set out in the report:

Year	Capital Programme
2018/19	£116.375m
2019/20	£86.380m
2020/21	£41.190m
2021/22	£33.322m

- 9) That the variations to the Capital Programme set out in paragraphs 35 49 of the report be approved.
- 10) That the Minimum Revenue Position policy for 2019/20 be approved as set out in appendix C of the report.
- 11) That the Capital Strategy including the 2019/20 Prudential Indicators and Treasury Management Strategy be approved as set out in appendix D of the report.
- 12) That the Service Director Finance, Procurement and Improvement be authorised to raise loans in 2019/20 within the limits of total external borrowings as set out in paragraph 55 of the report.
- 13) That the Treasury Management Policy for 2019/20 be approved as set out in appendix E.
- 14) That the report be approved and adopted.

The Chairman declared the meeting closed at 6.02 pm.

CHAIRMAN