

Meeting POLICY COMMITTEE

Date Wednesday 17 July 2019 (commencing at 10.30 am)

membership

Persons absent are marked with `A'

COUNCILLORS

Mrs Kay Cutts MBE (Chairman) Reg Adair (Vice-Chairman)

Chris Barnfather Joyce Bosnjak Richard Butler John Cottee Kate Foale Stephen Garner Glynn Gilfoyle Richard Jackson Bruce Laughton Rachel Madden David Martin Philip Owen John Peck JP Mike Pringle Francis Purdue-Horan Alan Rhodes Muriel Weisz

OTHER COUNCILLORS IN ATTENDANCE

Nicki Brooks John Longdon Jonathan Wheeler

OFFICERS IN ATTENDANCE

Anthony May Angie Dilley Rob Disney Keith Ford Nigel Stevenson Marjorie Toward James Ward	Chief Executives Department
Colin Pettigrew Marion Clay	Children, Families and Cultural Services Department
Adrian Smith Derek Higton David Hughes	Place Department

Paul Johnson Adult Social Care and Public Health Department

Dan Maher Arc

1 <u>MINUTES</u>

The Minutes of the last meeting held on 19 June 2019, having been previously circulated, were confirmed and signed by the Chairman.

2 APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

There were no apologies for absence received.

The following temporary changes of membership for this meeting only were reported:-

- Councillor David Martin had replaced Councillor Jason Zadrozny
- Councillor Rachel Madden had replaced Councillor Samantha Deakin
- Councillor Francis Purdue-Horan had replaced Councillor Tony Harper

3 DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST BY MEMBERS AND OFFICERS.

None.

4 FEASIBILITY COSTS FOR THE CARLTON-LE-WILLOWS ACADEMY (GREATER NOTTINGHAMSHIRE EDUCATION TRUST) BASIC NEED EXPANSION

RESOLVED: 2019/072

- 1) That an investment of £27,500 be made to fund the initial feasibility study to secure a phased plan to create 300 permanent additional secondary school places at Carlton le Willows Academy by 2023 at the latest.
- 2) That a further report outlining the costs to create the additional school places be submitted once the feasibility exercise has been completed.

5 NEW SCHOOL AT THE SHARPHILL DEVELOPMENT, EDWALTON

With the agreement of the Chairman, Councillor Jonathan Wheeler, within whose electoral division the new school would be sited, addressed the Committee and welcomed the Council's support for this new school.

During discussions, the Chief Executive reported that the Leader had requested officers undertake work to enable the Council to take a more strategic response to the issue of Section 106 and Section 278 contributions from developers.

RESOLVED: 2019/073

That the capital programme be varied by £8.6m to establish a project for the provision of a new school at the Sharphill development in Edwalton.

6 INCREASING RESIDENTIAL CAPACITY FOR LOOKED AFTER CHILDREN

RESOLVED: 2019/074

That approval be given to the capital Asset Management Group's proposed addition to the capital programme of £550,000 for the project to buy a house and make it suitable to be used as a new children's home.

The requisite number of Members requested a recorded vote and it was ascertained that the following 11 Members voted '**For**' the motion:-

Reg Adair	Chris Barnfather
Richard Butler	John Cottee
Kay Cutts MBE	Stephen Garner
Richard Jackson	Bruce Laughton
David Martin	Philip Owen
Francis Purdue-Horan	

The following 8 Members abstained from the vote:-

Joyce Bosnjak	Kate Foale
Glynn Gilfoyle	Rachel Madden
John Peck	Mike Pringle
Alan Rhodes	Muriel Weisz

It was confirmed that the above motion was therefore carried.

7 MANAGEMENT OF MEDICATIONS AND HEALTH AND SOCIAL CARE TASKS POLICIES FOR SHORT TERM ASSESSMENT & REABLEMENT TEAM (START) AND HOMEBASED CARE AND SUPPORT SERVICES

RESOLVED: 2019/075

- 1) That the Delivering Health and Social Care Tasks: Policy for Homebased Care and Support Providers be approved.
- 2) That the changes made to the Assisting with Medication Policy for Short Term Assessment & Reablement Team (START) be approved.

8 <u>PROPOSED AMENDMENTS TO THE PLANNING AND LICENSING</u> <u>COMMITTEE CODE OF BEST PRACTICE RELATING TO THE REPORTING OF</u> <u>PLANNING APPLICATIONS</u>

RESOLVED: 2019/076

That the amendments to the criteria for referral of planning applications to Planning and Licensing Committee, as set out in paragraph 13 of the Committee report, be approved and Section 2A.2 of the Planning and Licensing Committee Code of Best Practice be updated to reflect these changes.

9 WORK OF THE IMPROVEMENT & CHANGE SUB-COMMITTEE

RESOLVED: 2019/077

That the work of the Sub-Committee be noted and no further actions or information was required.

The requisite number of Members requested a recorded vote and it was ascertained that the following 12 Members voted '**For**' the motion:-

Reg Adair	Chris Barnfather
Richard Butler	John Cottee
Kay Cutts MBE	Stephen Garner
Richard Jackson	Bruce Laughton
David Martin	Rachel Madden
Philip Owen	Francis Purdue-Horan

The following 7 Members voted 'Against' the motion:-

Joyce Bosnjak	Kate Foale
Glynn Gilfoyle	John Peck
Mike Pringle	Alan Rhodes
Muriel Weisz	

It was confirmed that the above motion was therefore carried.

10 WORK PROGRAMME

RESOLVED: 2019/078

That the Work Programme, as updated at Committee, be agreed.

The meeting closed at 12.12 pm.

CHAIRMAN