JOINT COMMITTEE FOR APPOINTMENTS TO THE NOTTINGHAMSHIRE POLICE AUTHORITY

MINUTES OF A MEETING HELD ON FRIDAY, 30TH MAY 2003 COMMENCING AT 11.00 AM AT COUNTY HALL, WEST BRIDGFORD, NOTTINGHAM

MEMBERSHIP

Councillor Penny Griggs) Nottingham City Council Councillor Gary Long) Councillor Ian Malcolm)

Councillor Mrs K L Cutts) Nottinghamshire County Council Councillor Mrs V A Smailes) Councillor M Warner)

ELECTION OF CHAIR

Members noted the proposal at Agenda Item No.6 - Adoption of revised Standing Orders - to deal with the period of office for the person elected as Chair of the Joint Committee.

RESOLVED:-2003/001

That Councillor M Warner be elected Chair of the Joint Committee.

MEMBERSHIP

RESOLVED:-2003/002

That the membership of the Joint Committee, as reported on the agenda, be noted.

MINUTES

The Minutes of the last meeting of the Joint Committee held on 12th March 2002, having been circulated previously, were agreed as a correct record and were signed by the Chair.

APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

There were no apologies received.

DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST BY MEMBERS AND OFFICERS

Councillor Ian Malcolm declared a personal interest in Agenda Item No.7 - Appointment of Councillor Members to the Nottinghamshire Police Authority.

ADOPTION OF REVISED STANDING ORDERS

RESOLVED:-2003/003

That the revised Standing Orders set out in the appendix to the report be adopted.

In the light of the adoption of Standing Order 11(b) regarding the period of office of the person elected as the Chair, it was further:-

RESOLVED:-2003/004

That Councillor Warner's period of office as Chair of the Joint Committee continue until he resigns from that position or ceases to be a Member of the Joint Committee.

APPOINTMENT OF COUNCILLOR MEMBERS TO THE NOTTINGHAMSHIRE POLICE AUTHORITY

Following the implications for the political balance of the 2 Authorities as a whole arising from the results of the recent elections for Nottingham City Council and in the light of the expiry of the period of office of some Councillor Members it was moved by the Chair, duly seconded, and:-

RESOLVED:-2003/005

- (1) That County Councillor John M Hempsall be appointed as a Councillor Member of the Police Authority for a period of office expiring 1st June 2005 and
- (2) that City Councillors Ian Malcolm and Kevin Mulloy be appointed as Councillor Members of the Police Authority for a period of office expiring on 1st June 2007.

The meeting closed at 11.06 am.

CHAIR

PJR/O/M_30may03.POLICE AUTHORITY