

Report to the Full Council

26 March 2015

Agenda Item: URGENT ITEM 1

REPORT OF THE CHIEF EXECUTIVE RECOGNITION OF MEMBERS OF GROUPS

Purpose of the Report

1. To report the details of the revised membership of the political groups.

Information and Advice

- 2. At the annual meeting of the Council in May 2014 Members noted the composition of the political Groups as required by the Committees and Political Groups Regulations made under the Local Government and Housing Act 1989.
- 3. There are currently four political Groups on the Council, which are:-
 - the Nottinghamshire County Labour Group
 - the Nottinghamshire County Council Conservative Group
 - the Liberal Democrats Group
 - the Independent Group
- 4. The memberships of the Groups are shown in the Appendix to this report. There has been no change to the Officers elected by the Groups reported at the annual meeting in May 2014. Councillor John Wilmott is no longer a member of the Nottinghamshire County Council Labour Group having resigned from the Group.
- 5. In addition to the four Groups detailed within this report, there are therefore now three independent County Councillors who are not part of any political group, Councillor Maureen Dobson, Councillor Ian Campbell and Councillor John Wilmott.

Reason for Recommendations

6. It is necessary for Council to recognise the political Groups on the Council and their Officers.

Statutory and Policy Implications

7. This report has been compiled after consideration of implications in respect of finance, the public sector equality duty, human resources, crime and disorder, human rights, the safeguarding of children, sustainability and the environment and those using the service and where such implications are material they are described below.

Appropriate consultation has been undertaken and advice sought on these issues as required.

RECOMMENDATIONS

1) That the membership of the political groups be noted.

Mick Burrows Chief Executive

For any enquiries about this report please contact:

Sara Allmond 0115 9773794 sara.allmond@nottscc.gov.uk

Constitutional Comments

As this report is for noting only, no Constitutional Comments are required.

Financial Comments (SEM 23/3/15)

There are no specific financial implications arising directly from this report.

Background Papers

Except for previously published documents, which will be available elsewhere, the documents listed here will be available for inspection in accordance with Section 100D of the Local Government Act 1972.

Electoral Division(s) and Member(s) Affected

ΑII

<u>APPENDIX</u>

MEMBERS AND OFFICERS OF GROUPS

(A) Nottinghamshire County Council Labour Group

32 Members

Pauline Allan David Kirkham Roy Allan John Knight John Allin Darren Langton Diana Meale Alan Bell Joyce Bosnjak Michael Payne John Peck JP Nicki Brooks Steve Calvert Sheila Place Steve Carroll Liz Plant John Clarke Mike Pringle Darrell Pulk Jim Creamer Sybil Fielding Alan Rhodes Kate Foale Pamela Skelding Glynn Gilfoyle Parry Tsimbiridis **Kevin Greaves** Muriel Weisz Alice Grice John Wilkinson Colleen Harwood Yvonne Woodhead

Officers

Leader:Councillor Alan RhodesDeputy Leader:Councillor Joyce BosnjakChief Whip:Councillor Steve Carroll

(B) Nottinghamshire County Council Conservative Group

21 Members

Reg Adair
Chris Barnfather
John Ogle
Andrew Brown
Richard Butler
John Cottee
Mrs Sue Saddington
Mrs Kay Cutts MBE
Dr John Doddy
Bruce Laughton
John Ogle
Philip Owen
Tony Roberts MBE
Mrs Sue Saddington
Mrs Kay Cutts MBE
Keith Walker

Dr John Doddy Keith Walker
Boyd Elliott Stuart Wallace
John Handley Gordon Wheeler

Richard Jackson Liz Yates

Roger Jackson

Officers

Leader:Councillor Mrs Kay Cutts MBEDeputy Leader:Councillor Martin Suthers OBEBusiness Manager:Councillor Chris Barnfather

(C) Liberal Democrats Group

8 Members

Steve Carr
Stan Heptinstall MBE
Tom Hollis
Keith Longdon

Rachel Madden
Ken Rigby
Jacky Williams
Jason Zadrozny

Officers

Leader:Councillor Jason ZadroznyDeputy Leader and Whip:Councillor Ken RigbyBusiness Manager:Councillor Steve Carr

(D) Independent Group

3 Members

Stephen Garner Andy Sissons Gail Turner

Officers

Leader: Councillor Gail Turner

(E) Non-aligned Members

Councillor Ian Campbell Councillor Maureen Dobson Councillor John Wilmott