

Report to Children and Young People's Committee

20 June 2016

Agenda Item: 09

REPORT OF THE ACTING SERVICE DIRECTOR, EDUCATION STANDARDS AND INCLUSION

LOCAL AUTHORITY GOVERNOR APPOINTMENTS TO SCHOOL GOVERNING BODIES DURING THE PERIOD 1 JANUARY TO 31 MAY 2016

Purpose of the Report

1. To note the appointment of Local Authority (LA) governors to school governing bodies for the period 1 January to 31 May 2016.

Information and Advice

- 2. In line with the School Governance (Constitution) (England) Regulations 2012, as amended by the School Governance (Constitution and Federations) (England) (Amendment) Regulations 2014, governing bodies of maintained schools have reconstituted to a skills-based model of governance by September 2015, and are allowed one LA governor on the reconstituted governing body. For this model of governance, the school appoints the Local Authority governor and may set eligibility criteria.
- 3. Under these Regulations the County Council is responsible for nominating individuals as prospective governors. Nominations are made by the County Council, in accordance with the eligibility criteria provided by the governing body. When nominating new governors or re-nominating existing governors, the County Council must consider the skills and experience the governing body needs.
- 4. Local Authority governors nominated by the County Council and appointed by school governing bodies during the period 1 January to 31 May 2016 are as follows:

BASSETLAW	
Bracken Lane Primary	Mr Michael Storey
Haggonfields Primary	Councillor Sybil Fielding
Sir Edmund Hillary Primary and	Mrs Tracey Anne Manson Jervis
Nursery	
Sutton-cum-Lound CofE Voluntary	Mr Keith Circuit
Aided Primary	
BROXTOWE	
Brinsley Primary	Councillor Keith Longdon
Greasley Beauvale Primary	Mr Roderick Petman

GEDLING	
Carlton Central Junior	Mrs Michelle Claire Sills
Derrymount	Councillor Marje Irene Paling
Ernehale Infant	Mr Simon Ray
Manor Park Infant and Nursery	Mrs Kathleen Ann Holloway
Phoenix Infant and Nursery	Mr David Alan Richards
Pinewood Infant School and	Mrs Sheona Margaret White
Foundation Unit	
Porchester Junior	Mrs Avril Lane
Richard Bonington Primary and	Mrs Vikki Joanne Burr
Nursery	
MANSFIELD	
Abbey Primary	Councillor Stephen Neil Garner
Heatherley Primary	Mr Robert Andrew Lyons
John T Rice Infant and Nursery	Miss Claire Chambers
Leas Park Junior	Mr Ian Dentith
NEWARK	
Kirklington Primary	Mrs Sally Ann Broughton
Lowdham Church of England Voluntary	Mrs Helen Westbury
Aided Primary	
The Newark Orchard	Mrs Patricia Lesley Booth MBE

Other Options Considered

5. Nottinghamshire County Council's strategy for recruiting and retaining school governors includes the re-appointment of existing governors. The County Council sees many advantages in retaining experienced governors and actively seeks to encourage governors approaching their end of term of office to stand again either in the same school or in a different school. The appointments made ensure the retention and supply of experienced governors.

Statutory and Policy Implications

6. This report has been compiled after consideration of implications in respect of crime and disorder, finance, human resources, human rights, the NHS Constitution (public health services), the public sector equality duty, safeguarding of children and adults at risk, service users, sustainability and the environment and ways of working and where such implications are material they are described below. Appropriate consultation has been undertaken and advice sought on these issues as required.

RECOMMENDATION/S

1) That the Committee notes the appointment of Local Authority governors to school governing bodies during the period 1 January to 31 May 2016 as listed in **paragraph 4**.

Marion Clay
Acting Service Director, Education Standards and Inclusion

For any enquiries about this report please contact:

Leonie Meikle

Team Manager, Governor Services

T: 0115 8040627

E: leonie.meikle@nottscc.gov.uk

Constitutional Comments

7. As this report is for noting only, no Constitutional Comments are required.

Financial Comments (SS 06/06/16)

8. There are no financial implications arising directly from this report.

Background Papers and Published Documents

None.

Electoral Division(s) and Member(s) Affected

Retford East
Worksop North
Cllr Sybil Fielding
Worksop East
Cllr Glynn Gilfoyle
Misterton
Cllr Liz Yates
Cllr John Handley

Carlton West

Arnold North

Cllr Darrell Pulk and Cllr Jim Creamer

Cllr Pauline Allan and Cllr Michael Payne

Calverton Cllr Boyd Elliott

Carlton East
Cllr John Clarke and Cllr Nicki Brooks
Mansfield South
Mansfield East
Cllr Alan Bell and Cllr Colleen Harwood
Mansfield North
Cllr Joyce Bosnjak and Cllr Parry Tsimbiridis

Farnsfield & Lowdham Cllr Roger Jackson Newark West Cllr Keith Walker

C0842