

# Report to the Full Council

15 May 2014

Agenda Item: 6

## REPORT OF THE CHIEF EXECUTIVE

## RECOGNITION OF MEMBERS AND OFFICERS OF GROUPS

# **Purpose of the Report**

1. To report details of the membership of the political groups, together with the names of officers appointed within the Groups

## Information and Advice

- 2. At the annual meeting of the Council in May 2013 Members noted the composition of the political Groups as required by the Committees and Political Groups Regulations made under the Local Government and Housing Act 1989.
- 3. There are currently four political Groups on the Council, which are:-
  - the Nottinghamshire County Labour Group
  - the Nottinghamshire County Council Conservative Group
  - the Liberal Democrats Group
  - the Independent Group

There has been no change to the membership of the Groups since the annual meeting of Council in May 2013.

4. The memberships of the groups are shown in the Appendix to this report. The Appendix also gives details of the officers elected by the Groups at the annual meeting in May 2013.

#### **Reason for Recommendations**

5. It is necessary for Council to recognise the political Groups on the Council and their Officers.

# **Statutory and Policy Implications**

6. This report has been compiled after consideration of implications in respect of finance, the public sector equality duty, human resources, crime and disorder, human rights, the safeguarding of children, sustainability and the environment and those using the service and where such implications are material they are described below. Appropriate consultation has been undertaken and advice sought on these issues as required.

## **RECOMMENDATIONS**

- 1) That the membership of the political groups be noted.
- 2) That, in accordance with the Procedure Rules, the Officers of the Groups be recognised.

# Mick Burrows Chief Executive

## For any enquiries about this report please contact:

Jayne Francis Ward 0115 9773478 jayne.francis-ward@nottscc.gov.uk

## **Constitutional Comments (JFW 06/05/2014)**

7. The proposals in this report are within the remit of the Council.

## Financial Comments (SEM 7/5/14)

There are no specific financial implications arising directly from this report.

## **Background Papers**

Except for previously published documents, which will be available elsewhere, the documents listed here will be available for inspection in accordance with Section 100D of the Local Government Act 1972.

## Electoral Division(s) and Member(s) Affected

ΑII

## **APPENDIX**

## MEMBERS AND OFFICERS OF GROUPS

## (A) Nottinghamshire County Council Labour Group

## 34 Members

Pauline Allan David Kirkham Roy Allan John Knight John Allin Darren Langton Diana Meale Alan Bell Joyce Bosnjak Michael Payne Nicki Brooks John Peck JP Sheila Place Steve Calvert Ian Campbell Liz Plant Steve Carroll Darrell Pulk John Clarke Alan Rhodes Jim Creamer Pamela Skelding

Sybil Fielding

Kate Foale

Glynn Gilfoyle

Kevin Greaves

Stella Smedley MBE JP

Parry Tsimbiridis

Muriel Weisz

John Wilkinson

Kevin Greaves

Alice Grice

Colleen Harwood

Wuriel Weisz

John Wilkinson

John Wilmott

Yvonne Woodhead

Officers

Leader:Councillor Alan RhodesDeputy Leader:Councillor Joyce BosnjakChief Whip:Councillor Steve Carroll

## (B) Nottinghamshire County Council Conservative Group

## 21 Members

Reg Adair Bruce Laughton
Chris Barnfather John Ogle
Andrew Brown Philip Owen

Richard Butler Tony Roberts MBE
John Cottee Mrs Sue Saddington
Mrs Kay Cutts MBE Martin Suthers OBE

Dr John Doddy Keith Walker
Boyd Elliott Stuart Wallace
John Handley Gordon Wheeler

Richard Jackson Liz Yates

Roger Jackson

# **Officers** Leader: Councillor Mrs Kay Cutts MBE **Deputy Leader:** Councillor Martin Suthers OBE Councillor Chris Bathfather **Business Manager:** (C) Liberal Democrats Group 8 Members **Steve Carr** Rachel Madden Stan Heptinstall MBE Ken Rigby Tom Hollis Jacky Williams Keith Longdon Jason Zadrozny **Officers** Leader: Councillor Jason Zadrozny Councillor Ken Rigby **Deputy Leader and Whip: Business Manager:** Councillor Steve Carr (D) Independent Group 3 Members Stephen Garner Andy Sissons **Gail Turner Officers**

Leader:

Councillor Gail Turner