

# Report to Children and Young People's Committee

19 September 2016

Agenda Item: 09

# REPORT OF THE ACTING SERVICE DIRECTOR, EDUCATION STANDARDS AND INCLUSION

LOCAL AUTHORITY GOVERNOR APPOINTMENTS AND AUTHORITY GOVERNOR REAPPOINTMENT TO SCHOOL GOVERNING BODIES DURING THE PERIOD 1 JUNE TO 31 JULY 2016

# **Purpose of the Report**

- 1. To note the appointment of Local Authority (LA) governors to school governing bodies for the period 1 June to 31 July 2016.
- 2. To note the reappointment of an Authority governor who reached the end of their term of office during the period 1 June to 31 July 2016

#### Information and Advice

- 3. Under the School Governance (Constitution) (England) Regulations 2012, as amended by the School Governance (Constitution and Federations) (England) (Amendment) Regulations 2014, governing bodies of maintained schools were required to reconstitute to a skills-based model of governance by September 2015, and are allowed one LA governor on the reconstituted governing body. For this model of governance, governing bodies may set eligibility criteria for, and appoint, the Local Authority governor.
- 4. Under these Regulations the County Council is responsible for nominating individuals as prospective governors. Nominations are made by the County Council, in accordance with the eligibility criteria provided by the governing body. When nominating new governors or re-nominating existing governors, the County Council must consider the skills and experience the governing body needs in order to be effective.
- 5. Local Authority governors nominated by the County Council and appointed by school governing bodies during the period 1 June to 31 July 2016 are as follows:

ASHFIELD		
Healdswood Infant and Nursery	Mr John Foster	
BASSETLAW		
Cuckney CofE (Controlled) Primary	Mrs Margaret Jean Lovell	
Ranskill Primary	Mr David Michael Spencer	
GEDLING		
Coppice Farm Primary	Mrs Alison Jane Hirst	

MANSFIELD		
Mansfield St Peter's CofE VA Primary	Mrs Christine Bacon	
NEWARK		
The Mount CofE VC Primary School	Mr Richard Haig	
RUSHCLIFFE		
Orston Primary	Mr Liam Quegan	

6. The reappointment of an Authority governor, which is made subject to the completion of appropriate checks, is listed below

### Reappointments

RUSHCLIFFE		
The South Wolds Academy and Sixth Form		ncillor John Cottee

# **Other Options Considered**

7. Nottinghamshire County Council's strategy for recruiting and retaining school governors includes the re-appointment of existing governors. The County Council sees many advantages in retaining experienced governors and actively seeks to encourage governors approaching their end of term of office to stand again either in the same school or in a different school. The appointments made ensure the retention and supply of experienced governors.

#### Reason/s for Recommendation/s

8. The report is for noting only.

# **Statutory and Policy Implications**

9. This report has been compiled after consideration of implications in respect of crime and disorder, finance, human resources, human rights, the NHS Constitution (public health services), the public sector equality duty, safeguarding of children and adults at risk, service users, sustainability and the environment and ways of working and where such implications are material they are described below. Appropriate consultation has been undertaken and advice sought on these issues as required.

### **RECOMMENDATION/S**

1) That the Committee notes the appointment of Local Authority governors and the reappointment of an Authority governor to school governing bodies during the period 1 June to 31 July 2016 as listed in paragraphs 5 and 6.

Marion Clay
Acting Service Director, Education Standards and Inclusion

# For any enquiries about this report please contact:

Jane Mansell Senior Professional Practitioner, Governor Services

T: 07860 597832/0115 8040628 E: jane.mansell@nottscc.gov.uk

# **Constitutional Comments**

10. As this report is for noting only, no Constitutional Comments are required.

# Financial Comments (TMR 28/08/16)

11. As this report is for noting only, no Financial Comments are required.

# **Background Papers and Published Documents**

None.

# Electoral Division(s) and Member(s) Affected

Sutton in Ashfield North	Cllr Jason Zadrozny
Tuxford	Cllr John Ogle
Misterton	Cllr Liz Yates
Arnold North	Cllr Pauline Allan and Cllr Michael Payne
Mansfield East	Cllr Alan Bell and Cllr Colleen Harwood
Newark West	Cllr Tony Roberts
Bingham	Cllr Francis Purdue-Horan
Keyworth	Cllr John Cottee

C0876