

Report to Children and Young People's Committee

18 June 2018

Agenda Item: 12

REPORT OF THE SERVICE DIRECTOR, EDUCATION, LEARNING & SKILLS

LOCAL AUTHORITY GOVERNOR APPOINTMENTS TO SCHOOL GOVERNING BODIES DURING THE PERIOD 6 FEBRUARY TO 30 MAY 2018

Purpose of the Report

- 1. To note the appointment of Local Authority (LA) governors to school governing bodies for the period 6 February to 30 May 2018
- 2. To note the appointment of Additional Local Authority governors to the governing body of Ravenshead C of E Voluntary Controlled School.

Information

- 3. Under the School Governance (Constitution) (England) Regulations 2012, as amended by the School Governance (Constitution and Federations) (England) Amendment Regulations 2014, governing bodies of maintained schools were required to reconstitute to a skills-based model of governance by September 2015, and are allowed one LA governor on the reconstituted governing body. For this model of governance, governing bodies may set eligibility criteria for, and appoint, the Local Authority governor.
- 4. Under these Regulations the County Council is responsible for nominating individuals as prospective governors. Nominations are made by the County Council, in accordance with the eligibility criteria provided by the governing body. When nominating new governors or re-nominating existing governors, the County Council must consider the skills and experience the governing body needs in order to be effective.
- 5. Local Authority governors nominated by the County Council and appointed by school governing bodies during the period 6 February to 30 May 2018 are as follows:

ASHFIELD	
Abbey Hill Primary & Nursery	Mr Karl Simpson
	New appointment to the category of LA
	governor
Bracken Hill	Mr Philip Lakin
	Existing governor, now appointed to the
	category of LA on the same governing body

Mapplewells Primary and Nursery	Mrs Nicola Howatson New appointment to the category of LA governor
BASSETLAW	
Carr Hill Primary	Mr Anthony Arthur Danny Tromans New appointment to the category of LA governor
Prospect Hill Junior	Mr Alex Alan Terry Shiells New appointment to the category of LA governor
BROXTOWE	
John Clifford	Cllr Eileen Atherton
	Existing governor, now appointed to the category of LA on the same governing body
Larkfields Infant	Cllr Philip John Owen
	Existing governor, now appointed to the category of LA on the same governing body
GEDLING	
Abbey Gates	Mr Kenneth George Fellows
	Existing governor, now appointed to the
	category of LA on the same governing body
Arnold Mill Primary	Mrs Joanne Rachel Murray
	Existing governor, now appointed to the
	category of LA on the same governing body
Arnold View Primary and Nursery	Councillor David Sidney Ellis
	Existing governor, now appointed to the
Westdale Infant	Category of LA on the same governing body
Westdale Infant	Miss Louise Ashby Existing governor, now appointed to the
	category of LA on the same governing body
MANSFIELD	category of LA on the same governing body
Asquith Primary	Mrs Sandra Towson
Asquitti fillary	New appointment to the category of LA
	governor
Eastlands Junior	Mrs Joanne Rush
	Existing governor, now appointed to the
	category of LA on the same governing body
NEWARK	
Blidworth Oaks Primary	Mrs Angela Penney
	Existing governor, now appointed to the
	category of LA on the same governing body
Southwell Holy Trinity CofE (VC)	Mr Anthony Nigel Ladbury
Infant	Existing governor, now appointed to the
0.1 1.0 1. 5	category of LA on the same governing body
St Joseph's Catholic Primary, New	Mrs Gala Middleton
Ollerton	Existing governor, now appointed to the
	category of LA on the same governing body

RUSHCLIFFE	
Gotham Primary	Mr Alan John Higgins
	New appointment to the category of LA
	governor
James Peacock Infant and Nursery	Mr Gary Choo
	Existing governor, now appointed to the
	category of LA on the same governing body
Kinoulton Primary	Mr Chris Foster
	New appointment to the category of LA
	governor

6. The appointment of Additional Local Authority governors to the governing body of Ravenshead C of E Voluntary Controlled School are as follows:

Ravenshead C of E Voluntary Controlled	Mrs Alexandra Raynor
School	Mrs Dianne Stendall
	Mrs Deborah White

Other Options Considered

7. No other options have been considered.

Reason/s for Recommendation/s

8. This report is for noting only.

Statutory and Policy Implications

9. This report has been compiled after consideration of implications in respect of crime and disorder, data protection and information governance, finance, human resources, human rights, the NHS Constitution (public health services), the public sector equality duty, safeguarding of children and adults at risk, service users, smarter working, sustainability and the environment and where such implications are material they are described below. Appropriate consultation has been undertaken and advice sought on these issues as required.

RECOMMENDATION/S

1). That the Committee notes the appointment of Local Authority and Additional Local Authority governors to school governing bodies during the period 6 February to 30 May 2018 as listed in paragraphs 5 and 6.

Marion Clay Service Director, Education, Learning & Skills

For any enquiries about this report please contact:

Jane Mansell Team Manager, Governor Services T: 0115 8040628/07860 597832 E: jane.mansell@nottscc.gov.uk

Constitutional Comments

10. As this report is for noting only, no Constitutional Comments are required.

Financial Comments (SAS 06/06/18)

11. There are no financial implications arising directly from this report.

Background Papers and Published Documents

Except for previously published documents, which will be available elsewhere, the documents listed here will be available for inspection in accordance with Section 100D of the Local Government Act 1972.

None.

Electoral Divisions and Members Affected

Kirkby North
Ashfields
Cllr Jason Zadrozny
Retford East
Worksop North
Beeston Central and Rylands
Nuthall and Kimberley
Newstead
Cllr John Knight
Cllr Jason Zadrozny
Cllr Steve Vickers
Cllr Alan Rhodes
Cllr Kate Foale
Cllr Philip Owen
Cllr Chris Barnfather

Arnold North

Arnold South

Cllr Pauline Allen and Cllr Michael Payne
Cllr John Clarke and Cllr Muriel Weisz
Cllr Stephen Garner and Cllr Andy Sissons

Warsop Cllr Andy Wetton
Blidworth Cllr Yvonne Woodhead
Southwell Cllr Roger Jackson
Ollerton Cllr Mike Pringle

Leake and Ruddington Cllr Reg Adair and Cllr Andrew Brown

Cotgrave Cllr Richard Butler

C1129